Skip to content

Top 5 Bucket o’ Lawlz – 4.17.09

April 17, 2009

I know, I know. This is late. I tend to post this first thing in the morning, but I wasn’t able to. I’ve been utterly disillusioned by everything around me lately, especially WAR. I can’t put my finger on it, but I am. It’s making me nervous, because I don’t want to specifically lose interest in the game (I’ve already lost interest in my retarded group project, so much for that). I don’t know what I can do to keep holding my interest. Or maybe it’s just been a bad past couple of weeks, especially with finals coming up.

Thankfully, I’ve yet to be disillusioned by the forums, so let’s get straight to the lawlz.

Number Five. VIDEO – Tcharzanek King Fight… Is this really what we are staying for?
Best Quote. Staring tonight: Tcharzanek – Master Clown of the Inevitable Circus. They could have given him one of those unicycles or what they are called and make him juggle the players while funky circusmusic plays in the background…

While some people are fed up with and complaining about the lack of originality in the endgame fights, others are having fun poking fun at the lack of originality. It’s a great mix of people being serious business with people chucking their computers across the rooms and going STFU. Oh, and you always have to mention WoW here and there, right? Part of the people say WoW PvE sucks, another part says it rules, and then everyone else say this like, “FLYING KITES R FUN.” Too bad there’s an excess of imagery with the king fights, or else this would be more amusing.

Number Four. How to defeat a BW GOD.
Best Quote. You forgot to make a new category: Whine on the forums.

Only reason I picked up on this thread was due to the huge yellow ! symbol next to the thread. It was just begging to be looked at. And then I realized it was a Choppa… complaining about BWs taking him out… 1v1…. What? Apparently this is so much of an issue that a build was devised solely to kill pesky BWs 1 on 1. Because, you know, they’re gods like that. *facepalm* Thankfully people call him out on it, making it even more amusing. *munches on some popcorn*

Number Three. Good Things?
Best Quote. has anyone mentioned how good we look yet? they have already? oh well, how about damage sponges? that too huh?

I tend to lurk in the BG subforum a lot. There’s always drama, but it’s always the same drama over and over. And then I found this post! Oh, such a needed laugh. Yes, we do look good…. but that’s it. BUT WE LOOK DAMN SEXY. Someone even attempted to say we do awesome damage. Oi. Silly BGs thinking we can do stellar damage. Just stick to looking pretty! If it was longer, my popcorn bucket would need some refilling.

Number Two. Peace
Best Quote. Warhammer Alliance overmoderation of forums has made the Warhammer community less enjoyable on the whole. Fascism is a dying breed of government, and its model doesn’t scale down well.

So one of the guilds in Badlands was disbanding, hence this thread, so I got all sad when I started reading it. Then they said the following quote above and I couldn’t stop laughing. The truth is out, guys! People doing their jobs at a popular fansite is making WAR less enjoyable. That makes perfect sense. The whole thread is a mix of “Aww, sorry to see you guys leaving,” Zomg, QQ nubs,” and… wait, why are people talking about the pros and cons of FPS games!? I am so confused! Awesome thread, and definitely soda worthy. Almost deserved number one, but then I found the next one.

Number One. Test: Are you a heretic?!
Best Quote. And we are deeply concerned about the frequency with which you “Stroke the beard”. We have not settled on wether this is heretical or not but healthy, it cannot be.

Absolutely sheer brilliance. The dude who started the thread had some awesome replies and I’m sad he stopped replying after awhile, but the answers people come up with are hysterical. It’s great to see people get into character like this. You guys crack me up so much that I’m out of popcorn.

Would you like to contribute to the Top 5 Bucket o’ Lawlz? Omelettez would love you help, especially seeing she does not read every single server or class forum. Feel free to reply to the thread or PM Nnucifera at Warhammer Alliance with a lawl worthy link to a thread and it could be on the Top 5 list next week, along with a mention to you and your website, if you have one.

omelettez

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2009 4:53 pm

    “Fascism is a dying breed of government, and its model doesn’t scale down well.”

    I do not think that word means what [he] think[s] it means.

    Does anyone actually use “fascism” to refer to a form of government common in the 30’s and 40’s, rather than using as a replacement for “bad” or “mode of behavior I happen to dislike”. Language loses it’s usefulness as it loses precision.

  2. Omelettez permalink*
    April 17, 2009 6:01 pm

    I know, right? It’s both laughable and facepalm worthy.

  3. pancakez permalink*
    April 17, 2009 6:02 pm

    Luckily context is a great way to seperate words with multiple meanings. For instance, Fox news calling Obama a ‘fascist’ is an example of it being used as an epithet. On the other hand someone saying that, “Fascism is a dying breed of government,” is clearly a reference to literal fascism.

    Not that history helps much… fascism is a little… open to interpretation: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Definitions_of_fascism

Leave a Reply

