Skip to content

wcpi #7 (late as hell)

April 11, 2009
tags: ,

Yeah, we’d been meaning to pimp someone via a WCPI bump since Sunday, but we’ve uhm. Okay, we have no excuse. FAIL.

I was about to fail again, but I was using our blog stats to troll whoever had linked us and I came across someone who’d done a WCPI promotion for us. I was like, oh, that’s odd, I have no clue about this blog…Seemed cool though. Then, I was shocked. I’d been meaning to write about why we dislike the Open RvR servers and here they had a very well written article about it already. My radar needs some tweaking for sure.

So, without further ado: Ninja Gamers. It’s apparently four different authors, so they’ve two-upped us! Oh noes. The article about Open RVR servers is ORVR hits and misses. It hits up a lot of what I was meaning to post about in a short rant (short for me, anyway). It stops short a little of saying that Core servers have better RvR at low tiers, but they definitely do… Yeah, that’s right, ‘PVE’ servers have better PVP. Why? Well, read that article and then think about the fact that a rank 21 can enter tier 1 and not only can they easily AOE entire BOs solo, but unless other tier 2 players are present they can slaughter full groups by themselves. Hur hur!

I feel bad for a couple reasons. Usually we get a ton of hits from WCPI promotions and we only got 1 from them. Either we’re super popular and no one felt the need to click, or they’re not getting enough views. Since I really don’t think we’re that popular… let’s try to get them more hits. 🙂 They deserve it, their posts are all very well written. Though I do have to protest… Pirates are way, way better than ninjas. The booty is overpowered.

pancakez

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Omelettez permalink*
    April 11, 2009 10:45 am

    Pancakez pretty much summed up everything I wanted to say as well. Even the part about pirates. Love you guys, but pirates > ninjas =P

  2. April 11, 2009 12:54 pm

    Thanks for checking out my view on things, I really appreciate it. It wasn’t really about saying how RvR is better on a core server (because honestly i have no idea what a core server is like). It’s more or less about how mythic could make ORvR servers not just about ganking everyone and getting back to beating the snot out of people that actually offer a challenge. Anyway, I just wanted to get that through right quick. Thanks again for checking it out.

    P.S. – And secretly, i do believe pirates win vs ninjas 😛

  3. pancakez permalink*
    April 11, 2009 3:12 pm

    Oh, I understand, that’s why I said you’d stopped short of that. Mostly I found it amusing that your final solution you proposed is exactly how RVR works on Core servers. The only difference between Core and Open RVR is the chicken level and that people are flagged outside of RVR areas. In general there’s no reason to be outside the RVR areas (much less exp, renown, rewards), so even on Open RVR the PVP is taking place in those lakes. Then the Bolster effect evens out play more to allow people low in the tier to participate. Basically Core servers reward PVP participation, while Open RVR servers punish players for it.

    Hope we got you guys a couple hits though! It was great to find a blog I hadn’t heard of and see such good posts.

Leave a Reply

