Skip to content

da wheel iz a turnin’

April 5, 2009

So, last night while being stalked by Wafflez and Iridar we had a slight, short conversation… but, as is the case with me, it never ends that way. We were talking about how balance applies to the player base and what happens when someone like, say… me… gets their hands on something and tries to break it. Which is really what I do. I don’t really ‘play’ games I try to break them as best I can. This bridged from my goals as a Disciple and how I gear him, which some might consider a little bit nuts. I had well over 400 strength in Tier 2, and I now have just under 600 in Tier 3.

So it got my thinking… how much can you really get? Well, it took a little work (and I do mean a little), but here’s what I’ve come up with:

Bloodlord Boots + Chest = 105
Conquerors Belt + Shoulders = 110
Invaders Helm + Gloves = 123
Strength Cloak = 35
4x Strength Jewelry = 144
2x Strength Weapons = 88
5x Strength Talismans = 100
Base Strength: = 172
@Renown 46 = 120
Total: 997

I guess I have a goal.

pancakez

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Squirrt permalink
    April 6, 2009 7:43 am

    It is a commonly accepted in the WAR community that 900 is the soft cap for single stats. Str, Int, Wis, & Bal. I don’t know if this is true or not.

    You might have better luck working towards Dark Promise gear vs invader.

    Another thing to consider is making sure you cap your Corp and Elemental resists at 40%. Between Bright Wizards and Engineers each of them have a 370ish Corp resist debuff they can hit you with. If you running at the soft/hard cap 40% = 650 then after just one debuff you have gone down 17% Corp resists. On my server you can’t go anywhere now without triping over a half dozeen BW and Engineers

    I had to really work on getting my Corp resists to somewhere around 950. I have around 650 with equipment and jewlery and run with a Corp Pot that gives me +250. Though BW death through stacking rain of fire is supose to change in 1.2.1 but we will see. Many changes in 1.2 that were supose to happen never really were fixed. Criting on ROF for example.

  2. pancakez permalink*
    April 6, 2009 2:15 pm

    Dark Promise would result in a large drop in strength. Not sure you understood the post in any way, as maximizing strength was the entire point. Sovereign is the only way to get more. For a ‘before Invader’ set, you’d use Devastator T3 gear. Probably chest/boots, which provides 14 more strength than Dark Promise chest/boots. Any 2 pieces of Conq/BL provides much more strength than any 2 pieces of Dark Promise. The lowest strength you can get from Conq is 78 using the chest and belt. The highest you can get with Dark Promise is 71 with any two of chest/boots/gloves. Lowest you can get with BL is 82… so uh, yeah, no Dark Promise.

  3. April 6, 2009 2:39 pm

    Nice Post, Lets not forget those handy Strength Pots….very nice

  4. April 6, 2009 10:02 pm

    See, now I need you to figure this out for my Witch Hunter on PT. Or at least tell me what sources you used for your info so I can do my own research.

    Oh, and the post I referred you to about game balance during that conversation? Um, yeah, you had not read it because I have not posted it yet. Have not finished writing it yet, actually. I know, I know – I’ll get to it!

  5. Omelettez permalink*
    April 7, 2009 7:55 am

    What? LIES! D=

    I might have been confusing it with a post on another blog. Someone wrote something similar to what you were talking about.

  6. pancakez permalink*
    April 7, 2009 2:42 pm

    Yeah, I could swear I remember reading something like what you were talking about. o.O Looking forward to reading it though.

    Oh, and Witch Hunter is a lot easier to figure it out for. The non-set stuff all applies just fine (none of the rings, etc are class based). So all you need to do is figure out how to best organize the sets. If it were me, I’d most likely not go tri-set, but dual-set. The reason is for the Dark Promise 3 set, which while it isn’t strength, +5% crit is wonderful. For that you’d actually use 4 Dark Promise (chest, hat, boots, belt) with 2 Conqueror (gloves, shoulder). Free +7 parry as well. Adds up to 327 strength. That’s 986 strength, tack on the +160 strength tactic and you’re at 1146.

    You could get more strength, but I’m not sure there’s a real reason to… oh, and I left out Warlords… using 4 Warlord with 3 Dark Promise is the ultimate set as far as items I can actually look at. DP Chest, Hat, Shoulder, then all of the Warlord except those. You actually lose around 30 strength, but you gain another +11% crit, putting +16% crit on the ‘set’. Probably worth it. 😛

Leave a Reply

