Skip to content

the positive side

April 2, 2009

We’re back, and on the wings of the 1.2.1 notes. I really want to hate 1.2.1. I’m trying really hard, but the fact is it’s almost entirely good. There are a few questionable oversights, but in the long list of patch notes, the main thing that stands out is this: This is a bug fixing patch.

The following classes received nothing but bug fixes: Zealot, Rune Priest, Witch Elf, Witch Hunter, Swordmaster, Shadow Warrior, Knight of BS, Ironbreaker, DoK, Blackguard and Black Orc. While some of these classes do need a lot of work, fixing bugs as a priority isn’t bad. The main questionable change is for Shaman, Archmage, Rune Priest and Zealot. Shaman and Archmage have received damage buffs across the board, Rune Priest and Zealot have not. This means not only do Shaman and Archmage heal better, they’ll now also do more damage. Strange.

On a funny note, remember the big advertising point over Choppa and Slayer having random AOE? Yup, those are conical AOE attacks now.

Squig Herder and White Lion have finally receive stat-carryover for their pets, which is great.

Magus and Engineer haven’t been looked into much. Bright Wizard and Sorceress haven’t gotten the attention they need. Mythic is taking things in steps, apparently and that’s all right with me for the time being. Again, this is about bug fixes.

Some big button issues for me have been worked on though. The main one? They change Rending Blade in a positive way. Short cool-down makes it match up nicely with other tank AOE. New animation makes it possible to see it going off. Reduced AP is fine because it can’t be spammed and Chosen have enough AP issues. Cleansing Power also got looked at, but in an odd way. On the one hand it’s no longer a spammed removal, but on the other it can now be used to mass cleanse outside of your party. I’m unsure if this was a good move; the problem with Cleansing Power was the AOE nature, not the attachment to heals. WP can still rotate cleansing power between big heals, meaning all this has changed is the amount of Righteous Fury it consumes and a shift from 2 cleanses per 5 seconds to 1. It’s a start, but it isn’t going to save Sorceress by itself.

Wait, I said this was a bug fix patch, but some obvious things got changed? *sigh* I really, really want to force myself to hate 1.2.1 as much as I did 1.2. I guess having some things fixed amidst a bug patch is better than having no things fixed.

Scenarios are being worked on slightly as well. More or less, Mythic is showing they understand that many scenarios are too hard to win.They took a baby step, hopefully they’ll move on to that giant leap for mankind soon. Phoenix Gate beckons thee, oh great balancer. RVR also got changed in a somewhat respectable way. Sadly it does little to alleviate the PVE-train renown farming, instead tapering it back slightly into zone-domination-train renown farming. Realms with off-balance population, be warned, the dominant side of your server is now going to farm renown much, much faster.

We’ll see how the test cycle goes and if they’re really doing the job they’re setting out to do, but for now it seems good. Rune Priest and Zealot will definitely be strictly inferior classes to Archmage and Shaman post patch, however. I’m not sure why Mythic felt the need to buff that pairing, but not the other ranged healers who desperately need it.

I’ll be making another math heavy post in the near future, so for those of you who enjoy math and my animations that’s on the horizon. It will be about AOE damage and healing, but I’ll cover a lot more that’s been on my mind than I have recently. Readers beware, a wall is looming. There will be writing on it.

pancakez

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2009 3:59 pm

    I took you two off my blog roll, ya big WoW babies. Wait, no I didn’t. Can’t skip breakfast. It’s not good for you.

    Response lies here:

    As a current Slayer fan, I was actually happy about this AoE thing. I don’t use AoE much as I find it more rewarding to kill individuals with my super awesome whamadine Death Blow skill so.. meh. Maybe the choppa/ slayer zergs will start to die out. I’m not a fan of one button classes. I am a fan of nerfing AoE damage as it takes very little skill to push one button and kill 15 people.

    As a recovering Rune Priest fan, I was a little upset that the AM and Shaman were getting DPS love. My rank 22 RP does about as much DPS as a rank 5 BW. I swear to God! Oh, well.

    As a recovering Black Orc player. Perfect class, in my opinion. No need to fix. Which they didn’t.

    Glad your back. -NK

  2. April 2, 2009 4:52 pm

    Quick point: according to Adam’s post on the official forums, CP should not be able to work outside your own party.

    See here:

    http://forums.warhammeronline.com/warhammer/board/message?board.id=1-2-1_gd&message.id=117#M

  3. pancakez permalink*
    April 2, 2009 4:56 pm

    I love his wording in that post. If you look at the way it’s described in the notes it reads: Cleansing Power: This tactic has been changed. It will now cause Purify to remove a Curse or hex from everyone in the target’s group.

    Which explicitly says that it can be used to cleanse other groups. Quick, cover it up, cover it up and change it. 😛 Either way it’s good to see -that- mess finally addressed. Though, why they added hexes to it, I have no clue.

  4. April 3, 2009 12:55 am

    Clearly because Magi were way to OP 😀

  5. Enkhil permalink
    April 3, 2009 4:51 am

    I think it is to spread the effect more, there wil now be more classes effected by it, but each class by itself will feel the effect less. The total amount that can be cleansed hasn’t changed after all, max 6 per 5 sec and max 1 per person at that.

  6. April 3, 2009 8:57 am

    Personally I’m not at all broken up by the Slayer/Choppa fix to their “random” aoe. I never even took it into account, and I’m almost 28 on the slayer. Reason being that I always kept my targets in front of me when using said ability. I did this because:

    A: I tend not to look at someone behind me to see if my AoE is hitting them

    B: I keep my targets in front of me because you can only parry attacks from your frontal cone. You can’t parry a backstab.

    So, luckily this chance shouldn’t impact the smarter players at all. Only a fool leaves a mdps behind him and hopes that his random aoe will defend him from the WE going to town on his back.

  7. Omelettez permalink*
    April 3, 2009 9:02 am

    It’s usually a good thing to see what’s behind you as well. I move my camera around like crazy all the time.

  8. April 3, 2009 10:17 am

    Sorry, I guess I should have been more specific, but I didn’t want to be unnecessarily verbose.

    I’m not unaware of what’s happening behind me, I just meant that I try to keep the stuff I’m actually attacking in front of me. I always check behind me when I get a break in the melee. More often then not, I’ll finish off a target, look behind me to see there’s a WE on my WP guildie, charge back there and say hello.

    “Why hello there, Stabbetha, may I introduce you to Graden Axe? and his buddy Blessed Labrys?”

  9. pancakez permalink*
    April 3, 2009 11:22 am

    Well, you really ought to be looking behind you… I agree… but OMG OFF TOPIC. I don’t actually think the change to Slayer/Choppa is bad at all, I just think it’s funny that after advertising them, they changed it because they realize (as everyone knew) it was a silly idea. My eyes glaze over whenever Paul gets excited about stuff. It’s fun, but it never really pans out in game…

  10. April 8, 2009 12:22 pm

    Off Topic Rant: There are a lot of silly ideas in Warhammer Online.

    How about the fact that you can’t swap weapons in combat? Thats a little bit silly. (my kingdom for an extra scabbard!)

    AoE knock backs for melee classes? (get away so I can run back to you)

    Melee class with a pet? (uhhhh…)

    Pink demons and disk surfing wizards? (no additional response required)

    Yeah, Mythic is all kinds of silly but somehow it all works. -NK

Trackbacks

  1. WAR: Uno Punto Dos Punto Uno « Bio Break
  2. WCPI View of 1.2.1 « Gaarawarr Gabs

Leave a Reply

