Skip to content

On the road to T4

March 30, 2009

At some point when I came back from work on Friday, Pancakez and I had a conversation like this:

Pancakez: So, what do you want to-

Me: WAR.

Pancakez: Uh… are you-

Me: WAR. NAO.

I’m sure that’s not what we said word for word, but that was the gist of it. I hadn’t sat down and played WAR hardcore for 2 or 3 weeks, so guess what we did this weekend. Oh yeah, tons of WAR. It’s been awhile since we’ve had a post dedicated to our adventures, so I thought I’d enlightening you all.

The BG and DoK hit 20 a while back  and it makes me sad to see we haven’t gotten that far since then, but oh well. This weekend we started at rank 24 and ended halfway through 28 by Sunday night. That’s some pretty damn good progress if you ask me! We have some weird knack for leveling when we set our minds to it, so hopefully it continues to stay that way.

Completely and utterly cleared Greenskin T3. So hilarious, too. Best quest we came across was some Orc that was almost dead going, “Is that you Mork? I thought you’d be a bit bigger.” Oh Greenskin, you never cease to amuse me! Best moment, at least for me, was when we were doing one of the normal PQs. I forget exactly which chapter it was, but oh well. Only way we were able to complete it was with the help of two Choppas. Was so easy to round up all the stunties and AoE them down. But there’s this huge railroad track in the middle of the PQ and I was telling Pancakez halfway through, “Wouldn’t it be funny if a train came through and that was the hero we had to fight?” Be the best tome unlock, too. “You have encountered a train.” So we get to stage III and no sign of the hero. We wait a bit… AND THEN A TRAIN SHOWS UP! YES! I couldn’t stop laughing. Sadly, you don’t fight the train, but the hero and champion that come out of it.

I’ve been playing my BG with a sword and shield as of lately and actually acting like a tank than a glorified MDPS. Still specced Malice and will probably stay that way until rank 30ish, where I’ll switch over to Loathing. Pancakez does so much damage on his DoK that there’s really no worry of us lacking in damage. Except when he does Devour Essence and it aggros champions through the floor above us. Also, why are BGs the last tank to get a knockback? Rank freaking 25, people, what the hell? I remember I queued us up for PQs in hope for Tor Annroc to get some revenge on some stunties the minute I hit 25. Actually, I remember we just got back to the camp and it queued up and I’m over here going “NOOOO! I need to train first!” Got in with 15 seconds left.

And side note, why the crap does the BG armor have so much damn yellow in it? Not that nice, subtle goldish yellow, but the HAI GUYZ I’M YELLOW yellow. So annoying! I got The Fashionable title strictly for dropping gold to dye over the yellow. Grrr. 

So we finished Greenskin T3 and decided to hit up Chaos T3. We don’t want to hit T4 until we hit rank 30 or so. Probably so we can join scenarios and get lolfacerolled by people pimped out in epics. That’s fine, I had to deal with that on my warlock back in WoW when she first hit 70. With time we’ll get geared out. But back to Chaos T3. We get there, after running up hill for so long. Best scenic route ever. Get to the camp and Pancakez goes, “What is that?!” “What do you mean, it’s some tents, big deal.” “No, walk over here.”

 

WTF is that?!

WTF is that?!

Excuse my crappy UI, I need to redo it…. But what!? There’s a massive demon thingy in the camp? Awesome! And wait, does he have a quest bubble over his head? Wow, this just got better.

omgwtf

He's HUGE!

A Bloodthirster of Khorne? The Chaos are enslaving a badass, enemy demon. I love it! And when you click on him he says evil things, like how you put your soul at risk when you talk to him. WAR is serious business. Damn.

It was a massively eventful weekend for leveling. Sadly our RR didn’t go up much, but we didn’t do any ORvR or much scenarios. Pancakez will probably be writing a review of the T3 scenarios soon, so you guys have something to look forward to. I swear, with each time we play we find new reasons to love the game more and more. I can’t wait to get to T4.

omelettez

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 30, 2009 10:12 am

    It was a blast seeing you guys online Saturday. Iri and I ware going to have to work hard to catch up to yous two. Can’t wait until next Sat! (maybe we’ll sneak on Friday too …)

    Wafflez

  2. March 30, 2009 10:30 am

    LVL FASTER.

    It’s all good though =) Was great to talk with you two, even though we’re like, 20 ranks ahead of you guys. Can’t wait for the weekend to come again.

  3. March 30, 2009 11:21 am

    I love that demon! That’s the camp our destro characters are at (and have been for a long time now that we’re playing order). We actually have a model of that guy (we used to paint WH figures ages ago) that hubby painted.

  4. pancakez permalink*
    March 30, 2009 11:42 am

    Oh and I should mention my favorite PQ, because I thought it was awesome: Kruegerhaus. It’s the Chaos ch.12 Normal PQ, but it’s very, very well done. It’s the mansion of the Krueger family, which apparently worship Slaanesh. That alone would be awesome, but the execution is great.

    First you walk through the mansion, where most enemies aren’t hostile. Except when you approach the servant women they transform into Demonettes and try to eat your face. After that you start hearing noises from the upper floors and start climbing… this is the best designed mansion/castle we’ve found in WAR by far. You get to the first open room and fight a champion to teleports around cloning herself. For those familiar it’s like fighting Arugal and Jandice Barov at the same time.

    After she’s defeated you climb up even more and run into a room full of mirrors with a knight in the middle with her two guards. The trick is every 25% she runs into a mirror and resets to full health. Ouch. So I got myself roughly 28 years of bad luck breaking mirrors so we could actually drop her. Finally you head up even more to find the last boss. At this point you’re on about the tenth floor and have gone through balconies, battlements and all sorts of awesome stuff. Here you’ll find a room full of non-champions guarding a hero. If you don’t take care of the guards quickly you’ll notice a black mist start rolling in, then the entire room starts taking ticks of 500 damage pretty quickly. So, like the mirror before them, they had to get broken.

    Luckily the chest is in that same boss room. Why? When we ran down it reset before we reached the bottom floor again. This place is hugely awesome. I wish it was harder though, we two manned it with 10 minutes to spare. Pure awesome though, I wish all the PQs had great bosses like this, feels very epic climbing the tower too. Felt more like an instance than a PQ, which is a good thing.

  5. Omelettez permalink*
    March 30, 2009 3:28 pm

    I totally forgot this, so I’m adding it in now.

    Pancakez loves tormenting me with Guard. When I put it on him, he can run towards things and they will automatically run to me and attack. This does NOT bode well for me when we’re on our mounts and randomly get dismounted. So we’re in Chaos T4 last night, right? We spot a random patting pack on the road, consists of a rank 29 Hero and 4 Champs. We’re over here screaming and trying to run off the road. As they’re walk away, Pancakez goes “I bet we can take them.” And I’m like, “Yeah, you can go solo them, I’ll sit back and watch.”

    So he does run after them and aggros them… and they’re all running my way.

    ^@#$.

    Long story short, we actually took them down. I think I told Pancakez to rot in hell shortly after, but it was hysterical. And the mobs dropped nothing but silver =(

Leave a Reply

