Skip to content

aoe spambot

March 25, 2009
tags: ,

Well, this is going to be a really simple two part post. First! I owe a few people some apologies for the late delivery of some epic animation goodness… or some moving dots in any case.

For Corwwynn-Maelstrom’s Anatomy of a Launch: A lesson learned from Tron. How to properly use circle-strafing to reach friendlies and then use them as a barrier, regardless of their willingness to help you. Pillar humping your friends is full of win.

war-tronFor Gaarawar’s wonderful, epic guide on armor: A tribute to the random color schemes and dye-jobs of WAR. Possibly also a few seizures for good measure!

super-seizure-armorFinally for Martin, who probably deserved this without mention, but is finally getting a gif made for him due to his amazing Layman’s guides (1, 2, 3): How far would you really have to stand apart from every other person on your side to avoid AOE? Pretty damn far.

aoe-noobSorry for the slowness guys, it’s been a crazy couple weeks.

Now on to the second part of this question and the intent of the title. These are some really quick easy numbers to look at in regards to AOE compared to single target options:

Heals @700 Willpower:

Generic big heals: 2.5s cast, no delay, 1545 healing.

Generic AOE heals: 2.5s cast, no delay, 1185 healing.

WP/DoK AOE heals: 1s cast, 1.5s delay, 1185 healing.

BW/Sorc attacks @700 Intelligence:

~Generic channel attacks: 6 second channel, 5s delay, 2436 damage.

Generic channeled AOE: 10 second channel, no delay, 2895 damage.

Here’s my question: Should single target effects be this close to AOE affects in a game attempting to cater to large scale battle, or does it tip the scale too far in favor of classes with potent AOE? Furthermore does the prevalence of AOE limit the effectiveness of melee in battle when combined AOEs function as if it were a large amount of focus fire?

pancakez

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2009 7:34 am

    Between you and Ms V I’ve spent way too many brain cells thinking this morning …

    Just point me in the direction of a squishy and yell, “ALLONS-Y!”

    My tactics? I currently run in twisting 3 auras while circle straffing my target (normally a squishy ‘cept for last night when I was on guard duty) while spamming onc instant attack since that’s pretty much all the fingers I have left on my left hand (1 on W, 1 spamming F – my bind for twisting, and 1 on either my DoT or instant attack … dexterous I r not)

  2. March 25, 2009 12:55 pm

    Woot! My very own gif! I’ts miiiiiiiiiine 😀

  3. March 27, 2009 1:45 pm

    I’ve noticed how difficult circle strafing is when there are a lot of friendlies around. I wanna shout out, ‘Get out of my way. I’m trying to kill here, ya big oaf.’ Friendly people pillars are cutting down on my DPS. I think I’m going to start using enemy tanks as shields.

Trackbacks

  1. 1.2.1 « Shadow WAR’s Blog

Leave a Reply

