Skip to content

i got what you need

March 16, 2009

[ Poll is now closed. ]

I’ve been thinking. There’s only the two of us here writing and a few hundred of you out there reading, it’s probably a good time to let you guys make some decisions for a change. With that in mind I’ve created a poll for you. I’ll be closing it Wednesday morning and writing up a post covering the top two options.

Before voting here’s some more information on the options:

What would you like pancakez to rant about?

  • Balance between mirror classes: If you want a specific mirror please reply with one. I’ll be reviewing three mirrors total (6 classes).
  • Why I really hate RVR: If you really, really want to know why I think RVR is crushing WAR.
  • Improving patch testing cycles: I’ll talk about how testing could be improved overall and how to learn from the mistakes in 1.2.
  • Hybrid classes: This includes everyone except melee and ranged DPS, with the exception of Squig Herder and Shadow Warrior.
  • Game lore versus game design: Would involve everything from immersion to game balance and which should be higher priority.
  • Using shields versus greatweapons: Are tanks with two-handed weapons ‘loldps’ and useless in PVP?
  • Crowd control: My thoughts on crowd control in game.

There is no ‘other’ option. I might be giving you guys a choice, but I’m not going to risk having to write a wall of text on which dye makes your butt look best. It’s graveyard earth, okay?

Remember to reply with a mirror if voting for that option, otherwise I’m picking my own mirrors to review. You can place your votes below:

The poll is now closed.

Winners were:

1.) Balance between mirrors and hybrid classes (13 votes).

2.) Using shields versus greatweapons (12 votes).

Well, thanks for playing along guys. Hopefully something at least mildly productive will come of this. Oh, side note, I hate making polls. If I ever do this again it’s going in the sidebar or something. *sigh* For now though, marvel at my ineptitude. Oh yeah and if no one votes you’re going to get ten pages full of crap like this:

2v21Seriously. No one wants that. It’s like voting for Nader.

pancakez

19 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2009 4:10 pm

    Dots > anything else.

  2. Ventris permalink
    March 16, 2009 4:39 pm

    I voted! Do I get a sticker? Or my own dots .gif?

  3. March 16, 2009 4:43 pm

    7 votes, no comments, all you readers should at least give a reason why, tsh tsh!
    I don’t know who Nader is… but I’ll tell you why I voted for Hybrid Classes

    I play a Rp myself, a squig herder recently, and play stuff like that and always hear people blabbing about HEAL, and those people who play shout DPS if you get my drift.

    Second choice would be the Greatweapon VS Shield+Sword since I play a Swordmaster which I think comes better out of the Graveyard-Earthen paint with a big nasty sword. But mostly it’s the skills that come with it.

    Crowd Control is pretty balanced, it seems to me every class has it’s neccesary CC and we all have the same effects to a certian extent(d?)

    Testing cycles, I could’ve cared less. The way I see patches and changes to ‘game balance’ is.. well.. as patches and changes and I don’t whine about a certain nerf, I haven’t told anyone a WE is OP I just try to find the weakness, every career has it’s strong and weak points. So adapt already, that’s what mother nature wants you to do anyway.

    Game Lore VS Game Design.
    Too much to discuss, still wááy too much to read on about. I did hear some people saying the White Tower of Hoeth never shouldve been in DE hands. After research I can say I agree. But still, if games Workshop said this is the way then so be it. I did not create the world, neither did 99.99% that complain about it. Sure it can be unfair, nothing stays forever. Things will go good and Chaos will get the other end of the rope.. someday soon I hope..

    Balance and hatin WAR
    ’nuff said I don’t think you need to add more to the usual 🙂

    Cheers and good luck!

  4. Omelettez permalink*
    March 16, 2009 4:55 pm

    @Ventris: I’m sure he can make a dot .gif mocking your healing skillz =D

    And you totally took graveyard earth because that’s what my witch hunter has… *facepalm*

  5. March 16, 2009 5:51 pm

    Awwwww. I almost didn’t vote to get some more awesome animation!
    But in the end, I voted for balancing between mirror classes…especially for Engi/Magus 😉

  6. Alhariel permalink
    March 16, 2009 6:01 pm

    I’mma gonna have to vote for balancing between WL/Mara

  7. SomeShadyGuy permalink
    March 16, 2009 8:55 pm

    Engi/Magus mirrors and their respective effectiveness/contribution in PvP maybe…

  8. Silent Observer permalink
    March 17, 2009 3:00 am

    engi/magus

  9. ghaz permalink
    March 17, 2009 7:00 am

    for me its got to be class balancing with Borc/and either its functional or mechanical mirror (IB or SM) don’t mind which lol

  10. tarisai permalink
    March 17, 2009 9:34 am

    could you post about mirror balancing and how it’s misunderstood?

    like, how we all want to be different and unique, but at the same time have the exact same effectiveness as our mirror…

    that if we all got perfect balance between all abilities there would be an outrage ’cause: what’s the point in that?

    just a thought. that shirt looks great on you. gotta go kthnxbai x

  11. shadowwar permalink
    March 17, 2009 10:10 am

    Mirror Balance: SW/SH, for obvious reasons. It’s been a long time since I fought in T4 as Destro, and it was before SH got their buffs, so I’d like to hear from someone on that side of the fence in the now.

  12. gijeremy99 permalink
    March 17, 2009 11:09 am

    Hybrid Classes, more specifically DOK and WP(Throw some numbers at me!!)

    also I would like to see The mirror Comparision of these.

  13. Omelettez permalink*
    March 17, 2009 11:40 am

    I love how no one has voted for the patch test cycle thingy.

  14. pancakez permalink*
    March 17, 2009 12:38 pm

    @ghaz: I won’t be dealing with the ‘functional’ mirrors because Mythic is making effort to remove that sort of thing from the game. BO / SM are now true mirrors, while IB / BG have no functional mirror.

    @tarisai: I will be going over some of the issues of mirrors in general as well as the three mirrors you guys pick. It will definitely include the idea that things can be different, but equal within the game.

    @gijeremy99: The hybrid discussion will cover classes, but much more loosely. That discussion will be much more about the concept of hybrids and their place in the game.

    …and hun, omgshutup! I kind of figured no one would want to hear me rant about testing logistics anyway. 😛

  15. ghaz permalink
    March 17, 2009 6:18 pm

    fair enough i didn’t know that cheers for the info =D but to say BO and SM are true mirrors kinda hurts i don’t wana go around with a 2 hander, wearing a dress.. lol but i’d still like to see a comparison on BO/SM (mainly cause i belive there not balanced at all =P)

  16. Light permalink
    March 17, 2009 8:27 pm

    Actually I’m more intrested about the game lore and how it affects the game as a whole. I’m kind of a lore geek and I love Warhammer 🙂 Also, the mirror classes have been done to death imho.

  17. pancakez permalink*
    March 18, 2009 10:10 am

    As Omelettez post (and now this one) said the winners are:
    1.) Hybrids / Balance between mirrors.
    2.) Using shields vs greatweapons.

    As mentioned before I can’t write all three of those articles today, but you are getting a two-in-one later this evening. That will be Hybrids and Using shields vs greatweapons. Balance between mirrors will be posted tomorrow, in the evening again most likely. The agenda for the three mirrors to be spotlighted is as follows: Engineer / Magus, Black Orc / Swordmaster, White Lion / Marauder. Because I’ll be spending extra time on that article I’ve added a fourth pairing that I selected at random, which will be Bright Wizard / Sorceress.

    Thanks for voting and as always thanks for reading our blog.

  18. March 21, 2009 6:54 pm

    Great post, but its a bit long and most people like short and sweet posts!

Trackbacks

  1. okay kiddies… « breakfast at war

Leave a Reply

