Skip to content

WCPI Spotlight #3

March 8, 2009

We really need to to have a consistent title for these spotlights. Guess we’ll just start numbering them! This week we got two articles for the spotlight, both completely different, and I love it.

Over at Tooth Skinner, Nosmo King talks about the annoying tendencies of backseat drivers in the game, mostly those who belittle healers. Having healed for a decent amount of time on my Zealot, I completely understand the brain capacity people have when it comes to tell healers what to do. Sometimes people try to be helpful, and then there are those who keep caps lock on auto-pilot and are just cruise control for cool. Nosmo king keeps his point short and simple, extremely to the point, and I believe he speaks for all the healers on how they feel about others screaming at them for heals.

And speaking of heals,  we know how much healers love Squared, right? Regis at Wizards & Wenches has written up an indepth article about the many features of Squared. Most people probably load Squared and leave it at, completely unaware of the awesome features it has. Regis goes over each layer step by step, showing how to customize Squared to however you want it to look. For me, I have all mine vertical in a single row. It’s an amazing tool with so many features. So for those of you completely clueless to Squared’s features or want to brush up on your memory, check out his article.

omelettez

Oh yeah, my turn to chime in after the fact! I actually really like both these posts as well.

There’s definitely a flip side to the horrible excuses that 15$ arguments are. I always hate that one dude who has the bright idea to turtle in a scenario as if that’s some sort of win button. Even better are the ones who feel the need to spend all their time yelling for people to heal them as if they’re about to have a brain hemorrhage at your supposed stupidity. Really now? Reaaaaally? There may be people out there that really don’t make the best of their class, but you’ll never catch me whispering random people and MAKING LOUD NOISES because some scrub Shaman feels like DPSing. Does it suck? Sure… but seriously, if someone has decided to do something like that, they probably aren’t going to take your screaming as doctrine and change their ways.

Now, on to Squared. I love Squared. I do object to one thing in this article though. Those colors are so not feng shui. How do you expect to raise your chi as a healer if you’re mixing reds and blues with green and brown!? That’s just not right. I very much prefer classifying archetypes with aesthetics in mind. RDPS use Sapphire (8,37,103), MDPS use Yale Blue (15,77,146), Tanks use Steel Blue (70,130,180) and Healers use Carolina Blue (156,186,227).

I never realized before this exact moment how picky I am about my UI…

pancakez

The WAR Community Promotion Initiative, or WCPI for short, is a player-wide effort for WAR fansites, blogs, forums, and other WAR community efforts to cross-promote and expose content to everyone who visits them. Members of the WCPI regularly promote each other through links, spotlights, and other features. If you have a WAR site and you’d like to join, check out the WCPI thread or PM PhoenixRed on the Warhammer Alliance forums.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Omelettez permalink*
    March 8, 2009 8:20 pm

    Well shit… and I thought I was the graphic designer.

  2. pancakez permalink*
    March 8, 2009 8:21 pm

    Oh please, you know damn well Sapphire is not the same color ratio and doesn’t fit. I’m just not -quite- anal enough to find a better color. T_T

  3. Omelettez permalink*
    March 8, 2009 8:23 pm

    If you want I can’t let you borrow the PMS book where I work so you can find an exact color =P

  4. pancakez permalink*
    March 8, 2009 8:23 pm

    …you have a ‘PMS’ book?

  5. Omelettez permalink*
    March 8, 2009 8:24 pm

    …. yeah I’m the graphic designer, for sure…

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pantone

  6. pancakez permalink*
    March 8, 2009 8:26 pm

    So, once a month I can pretend that you’re not really going to kill me, but instead are doing some kind of OCD color matching game?

  7. Omelettez permalink*
    March 8, 2009 8:26 pm

    *facepalm* Screw it! We’re taking this to IMs!

  8. March 9, 2009 9:23 am

    Awesome, thanks for the spotlight. I was losing hope with this blogging thing last night and had actually contemplated giving up on blogging altogether. You have inspired me to continue.

    Update. This same guy, @*##%, ended up in a keep siege I was involved with the other day and he was strangely quiet. I kept him healed the whole time (he’s a BW so that in itself is a feat) and I thought, “Wow, maybe he was just having a bad day before. Perhaps I shouldn’t judge people so quickly.” Then, I remembered I had him on ignore! Oh well. I wonder if he was bitching up a storm in the WB chat?

    Anyhow, thanks again. -NK

  9. Omelettez permalink*
    March 9, 2009 11:06 am

    Not a problem! I’m glad this has sparked something in you to keep blogging. It was an awesome post and I’d love to read more. Keep it up!

  10. Ventris permalink
    March 9, 2009 11:41 am

    You guys are so full of WIN!

    Love you. Mean it!

    @Nosmo – ask for Omelettez anti-fucktard macro:

  11. March 9, 2009 11:43 am

    Way to triple post =P I fix it with awesome admin powerz! =D

    Ask and you shall receive!

    …………………./´¯/)
    ………………..,/¯../
    ………………./…./
    …………./´¯/’…’/´¯¯`·¸
    ………./’/…/…./……./¨¯\
    ……..(‘(…´…´…. ¯~/’…’)
    ………\……………..’…../
    ……….”…\………. _.·´
    …………\…………..(
    …………..\………….\…

    I still need to make that macro in WAR… and I miss my Mario macro from WoW =(

Leave a Reply

