Skip to content

Non-WCPI Spotlight

March 6, 2009

Now and then I come across a post that makes me smile and want to give the writer a huge hug, mainly because I love their post. I found one yesterday, which I planned to spotlight, but unfortunately they are not a WCPI member (and SHOULD be!). But you know what? Whatever. I’m spotlighting them anyways.

Over at Cry Me a RvR, Miss Vinda has written an amazing article on the so-called gender bias in WAR. It’s a very loaded article, but I think it’s a much needed loaded article. She picks out the female gamers in WAR who have been complaining about the lack of female class options and tells them to suck it up. The following quote sums up not only how I feel about the situation, but also the whole article:

If you consider yourself to be a strong, “liberated” (lol) woman, why wouldn’t you want your avatar to be physically strong and intimidating in appearance? What is wrong with playing a male toon as a female? Quite frankly, I feel as though the people who complain about there not being enough female avatars in WAR are sexist themselves. Games Workshop not only bent alot of their own lore to accomodate players, they damn well broke alot of it into little pieces. It is YOU, not Mythic and not GW, that is limiting your character options. YOU choose to cut your choices down to a fraction of what is available to you, and cry and whine and moan that more exceptions and allowances aren’t made, and honestly, I think it’s utterly ridiculous.

It’s an excellent read, regardless if you agree or not. I just hope that the female gamers out there look past the gender nonsense and play the game for playing the game. Last time I checked, it involved kicking ass. It doesn’t matter if you’re male or female. If you’re kicking ass, then you’re all good.

omelettez

One Comment leave one →
  1. pancakez permalink*
    March 6, 2009 1:33 pm

    My turn my turn! Just thought I might mention that while I do feel like a lot of guys fit her bill as being ‘pussified wusses’ I don’t really think that’s the majority. Maybe the majority of high school guys, or the majority of art student guys, but not guys in general. I’m certainly not under 135 pounds, I’m actually 70 pounds heavier than that at 6’5, 205. Also while I’ll admit I have long hair, I must contend that so did most of the Greek Pantheon. Historically long hair is actually a very manly feature. You’ve gotta draw some line between Conan who can knock out horses with his bare fists and Fabio who got hit in the head by a goose.

    Have to admit though, I love this article as much as Omelettez does. I feel like our culture today encourages us to be soft. If you like strong opinionated women your only normal resort is to seek out someone with a pretty radical feminist view. If you want a strong, hard edged man, you’re probably going to wind up with a criminal, or at least a sexist pig. I got pretty lucky to find a girl who isn’t a fragile doll who is going to break, or blow away in the wind. I won’t deny my own insecurities, but I’m pretty proud to say that she’s always telling me she feels safe around me.

    Oh and I’ll be damned if I let her open doors, or walk between me and the street. Hell, I love making her breakfast in bed too. Maybe I am a chauvinist, but I really don’t care. I’d rather be hit by a car than have her injured. I’d rather see her blushing when I open the door than see an ’empowered woman’ prove how independent she is by doing it herself. And you know what, I’d rather give her as much time before getting out of bed and getting dressed as possible. If I have to fry some damn eggs, that’s great, maybe I can make myself some too.

    Love the article, love to see that not everyone has forgotten what the original feminists wanted. Guys, women got our asses through the World Wars by working in steel mills building planes, guns and tanks. We replied by putting them on bombers, pin up girls with no airbrushing, girls with curves. Curves that made you want to want to come home from the war to a girl who’d be working in a mill all day and treat her like a lady.

Leave a Reply

