Skip to content

Hey guys! How’s it- where is everyone?

March 5, 2009

At the rate my eye has been twitching, I fear it is going to get stuck like that for a week. It only happens when things irritate me, and with all the posts about 1.2, I am irritated! And no, it’s not because I disagree with a single thing people have been talking about… I just haven’t had a chance to play WAR since the patch! I’ve been flooded with college work, mainly the overwhelming doom of my portfolio review coming up in a few weeks with the design department. I hate working over a month on a presentation that’ll last 15 minutes, and half the stuff is going to be glanced over anyways. So damn you fellow bloggers for tempting me to play 1.2 when I don’t have the time! Damn you! *shakes fist*

So not much WAR for me lately. It’s hard, especially all I want to do at the end of the day is to stab people in the face in RvR. Instead, I’ve been either pulling late nighters to get work done or just crash early.

Which brings me to an idea that has been floating around in my head, and that’s playing the game as a fresh rank 1 person. No, we’re not rerolling for the tenth time. What I’m talking about is when a game is so far along, how easy is it for a new person to come in? With WoW, the content was easy to solo and if people tried hard enough they could get to 60 within a week or two. Then the first expansion came out. I was able to get a warlock from 1 to 70 in several months on the side. It sucked, but I managed to do it. Now with the new expansion, I don’t even know what it’s like. The idea of starting all over again to achieve that huge number is really overwhelming

Then look at other games, like RO. Pancakez and I were discussing how the game is dying, partial due to the reason that if you don’t have a lvl 99 trans character, there is no point to playing the game. It takes months to reach 99, then more months to complete the trans part. For those of you not familiar to RO, you have the option to play from 1 to 99 ALL over again in order to become more powerful on the same character. Also, if you didn’t know anyone in the game, it was extremely hard to lvl up all on your own. Not to mention the economy is so messed up in the game that it’s impossible to find proper gear and items to lvl up with.

And then there are games like Final Fantasy XI, where if you do not have a 25-man raid, you cannot take on that fuzzy bunny. People who have played sure know what I’m talking about. I love group games, but wow, it was horribly reliant on groups. I have never seen people get into bidding matches intensely for an hour over who was getting the white mage for their group.

Now we go back to WAR. The game is still relatively new compared to the ones I’ve mentioned, but I look at how fast everyone is progressing. People are in full RvR gear and hitting renown rank 80 and so on. I sort of dread going into T4 fresh, knowing full well I’m going to get steamrolled by the pimped out rank 40s. I worry if I don’t spend more time on the game then I’ll get left behind and the game won’t be fun anymore. Seriously, who enjoyed being that guy over there who hadn’t reached lvl 70 in WoW while everyone in your guild was farming Tier 5?

Back when I played “Vanilla WoW,” I felt the game pace was a lot slower for some reason. Maybe I didn’t see as many people rushing to 60 then. I remember with the heavy metal event, people got their new characters to rank 40 in a week or two. I’m not saying things are going too fast or slow in WAR, but I truly hope that players don’t go too fast to the point where they burn themselves out. It’s like sprinting to the finish line, but no one else is there with you. Instead, they’re still watching the rest of the race ten miles away. But no one is going to watch you when you’re simply walking, trailing behind, and the rest are running ahead.

So is WAR easy to play for a newbie? Right now, I feel it is, but the minute servers are filled with more rank 40s in epic gear than lowbies running Nordenwatch, I feel it will intimidate new players from wanting to join. No one wants to be trailing behind, only to be pointed and laughed at for not picking up the pace. We should enjoy the game at whatever pace we are most comfortable at, but with all the posts and comments about pushing for more content, gear, and scenarios in end game makes it harder for new people to swallow. It’s hard to scarf down a meal twice the size of you, ten times faster than you normally eat it, and hope to not puke it back out.

omelettez

12 Comments leave one →
  1. March 5, 2009 8:35 am

    Well my main character I stared in Headstart is only level 27 lol so I really havn’t rushed at all.

    I have now got 10 alts all in tier 1 as I love the starting areas, Ekrund, Mount Bloodhorn, the blighted isle, chrace, nordland and Norsca are all so polished with fun quests and the feeling that War is everywhere with explosions and enemies all around. The RvR lakes are small and people actually fight there in my experience rather than the keep swapping that happens in higher tiers.

    I do enjoy playing in higher tiers but after reaching Averlorn and nearly quiting the game due to bordom (I HATE IT, I HATE IT) I find that going from one alt to the next doing 2 or 3 levels at a time is so much more fun. So for me level 40 is probably a long way away. I do want to get my Swordmaster into Tier 4 and join my Guild mates but hey Whats the rush. 🙂

  2. March 5, 2009 9:22 am

    I’d agree that it is easy to play for a newbie. I’ve found that after you get your first rank 40, the second take about half as long to get to 40. Especially if you know the quickest way of doing so. Luckily for new players and rerollers, the quickest way to rank 40 can be accomplished as a solo player.

  3. Omelettez permalink*
    March 5, 2009 11:00 am

    Oh god, it took me FOREVER to get my first toon in WoW to 60! Second time around I got to 60 in three weeks, then less the third time around.

  4. March 5, 2009 11:08 am

    I don’t have a R40 yet … *sigh*

    Of course, if I’d stop rolling lowbies (newly minted Chosen and Zealot on Badlands named Wafflez(me) and Baconz(Iridar) – send us a tell if you guys ever see us on!) I’d probably be able to get somewhere with my main …

    What I do know that it’s really damn easy to get to R20. Having played almost every race in each pairing I can honestly attest to the ease a new player can have with WAR. The game is pretty accessible – when it isn’t crashing.

  5. Omelettez permalink*
    March 5, 2009 11:34 am

    You are full of awesome, Ventris! We’ll have to throw you guys up on our friends list to say hi.

  6. March 5, 2009 1:07 pm

    @Inquisitor Goody
    I share your playspeed although all of my alts have left T1 all with RR 11 (see the catch?:P). Enough boasting all my awesome characters. After T1 I find RvR rather less fun. T2 Scenarios are fun to play but as you said the keep switching, big lakes, I am more of an ocean person to begin with but the lakes are too big. (makes no sense I know) Avelorn is a bore, agreed. I sense rank 40 coming not very soon but rank 33 is closer than 21 :P.

    @Omelettez (the reply)
    in WoW it also took me ages to get my first toon to 60, and when it got to 60, two days later the expansion came out, when I hit 66 I got bored and now I will curse that game everytime I see it making another expansion!

    @Omelettez/Ventris
    I so envy you for having a partner to play with, dang you!

    Cheers,
    Stone

  7. Omelettez permalink*
    March 5, 2009 1:16 pm

    Why do I have the feeling I’m going to start seeing all these breakfastz related names pop up on destro side in Badlands now? =P

  8. pancakez permalink*
    March 5, 2009 1:24 pm

    I need to stop finding out you’re home early by checking our blog… *headscratch*

    Oh and Wafflez (because Ventris is a silly name and not food related) we’ll be sure to friend you guys. Like she said though, we haven’t been able to gt much time in lately because of busy…stuff.

    On topic though… good god. Vanilla WoW and now WAR are so easy to get into. I worry that a BC/WOTLK type…thing…might occur in WAR where it’s no longer much fun to restart though. In WoW on several occasions I was like… I’m bored. A week later I’d have a new level 60. We tried to play RO on the new free servers, but man… I’d forgotten how much it sucks to not be a walking god with every piece of gear you want in that game. So hard to start fresh in…

  9. March 5, 2009 9:22 pm

    @Omelettez, pancakez: I feel a food oriented guild in the making – Breakfast at WAR: Teh Guildz!

    Stone – roll a Destro alt on Badlands and join us. Well … I say us – I have yet to catch up with these two but they’ve been busy and I alt so much I never know when or who I’ll be playing. Perhaps a regularly scheduled pug? Would want to keep it casual though since a) I’m invading their space and b) …I alt .. a lot.

  10. Omelettez permalink*
    March 6, 2009 9:49 am

    On one of our servers back in WoW, there was this arena/PvP based guild called Breakfast of Champions, with all the core members named after breakfast food. Too bad they were asshats.

    I am also totally for a scheduled pug night! Pancakez and I could make lowbie alts to play with you guys so we could dominate Nordenwatch.

  11. shadowwar permalink
    March 6, 2009 12:09 pm

    This is where we look to Mythics (typical) ideal of horizontal expansions as opposed to vertical. Also, we have the advantage that R40, is easy to get to, but RR80 is not. The difference in power between the two, while noticeable, is not insurmountable. I do not think you will be looking to the vertical expansion plans laid out by games like EQ, EQ2, WoW, etc…

  12. Omelettez permalink*
    March 6, 2009 9:13 pm

    I personally think it’s too early in the game to say it’s a horizontal expansion over a vertical one. That could change when the game matures over time.

Leave a Reply

