Skip to content

My two cents on fifteen dollars

February 27, 2009

Is anyone else thoroughly amused when people rebuttal with comments such as “It’s my $15, I can do what I want” in arguments in game or at the forums? I swear, it’s one of those things that people fling about just so they can get away with something, or seem like they’re superior in an argument. A vast majority of the time, when people throw the $15 card around, they’re more or less making themselves look like a moron.

My only lucid experience that I can recall with the $15 remark was back in WoW when I was hopelessly arguing with a mage who was 0/0/61. For those of you rusty on your WoW terms or never played at all, this was a Frost mage who dumped all their talent points into the frost tree and was an utterly shitty spec for any situation except maybe farming. Except he wasn’t farming and he wanted to be a hardcore raider. After trying to explain the benefits of other viable specs, even a frost build that threw some points into arcane, he simply chucked the $15 card at me and that was that.

With WAR, I haven’t seen it as much, but several days ago I saw someone flinging it about to no end. It made me laugh, it truly did. True, no one is forcing you to play the game a certain way, but there are definitely more effective ways of playing the game that can help you improve your play style or just make life easier. Like all you anti-social soloers out there. It’s your $15 and you’re going to solo, right? You know, it would be much easier to form a group to take on those PQs than solo-farm stage 1 over and over. Hell, the game even has the Open Party system which makes forming parties that much easier.

And then there are some more serious cases, like DoKs who refuse to heal and want to DPS. It’s their $15, right? They should DPS all they want, right? Awesome, you keep doing that. And when you come across a scenario where you’re the only viable healer and you insist on DPSing instead of throwing some heals around and you lose miserably due to the lack of heals, then don’t come to me or the forums to QQ about it later. Don’t gimp yourself to make yourself, and only yourself, happy. Reminds me of Shadow Priests in BGs back in WoW who were insistent on melting faces while 3 alliance players focus fired me. Thank you, Mr. Shadow Priest, for being a moron. We could’ve been more successful and stop them from capping the flag if you had stopped attempting to DPS and heal me instead. I was already out damaging you by 100k.

 Then there are those people who feel like they’re entitled to more stuff from Mythic because they’re paying them. Like the Blackguards complaining about their knockback, that it’s not on par with their mirror class or any other tank class. It’s their $15 and they expect to be at the same bar with everyone else. Ok… seriously? If you’re going to throw the $15 card around, don’t do it here. You look even more like a moron. At least before, you do have the option of DPS or healing, and it’s some what understandable, even though you might be gimping yourself and your team. But half the time when people talk about mechanics, they don’t know what they’re talking about. Be happy you HAVE a knockback. Perhaps you should learn to play your class more effectively to take advantage of it. If you want your class to be more easy mode, roll something else.

There are so many other instances I’ve seen people use this excuse for their ignorance. Again, back in WoW, people used it all the time in RP servers to get away with playing a half-catgirl, half-vampire warrior. All I have to say is do you buy D&D and insist on playing as mechas? Well, you did pay for it, you should do what you want, right?  Well, if you really wanted to play as mechas, you should have… well… not buy D&D. If you want to be roleplaying as a catgirl, don’t buy WAR, go play some furry game. If you want to DPS and have absolutely zero responsibilities as a tank or healer, then for everyone’s sanity, roll a DPS class. I don’t mind if healers or tanks DPS from time to time, but it’s the people who insist on being killing machines and refuse to put on a shield for that hero boss in stage 3 or refuse to shift out of shadowform to toss you even a HoT.

If you have even half a brain, don’t use the $15 thing as a crutch for your arguments. Try to think of a better argument to defend yourself. It reminds me of people smack talking back and forth and someone finally goes “uh… your mom!” Who does that? Yeah it’s true you paid your precious $15 to play an online game for a month, but it’s like your renting a house almost. It’s not just your house, it’s everyone else’s, too. Don’t disrespect other people around you with you blaring music and say “Well, I paid for it” as an excuse to continue about your childish antics. And you know what? Problem can be solved easily by wearing headphones. Or if you really want to fight it, then chuck your crutches away and stand up for what you believe in. 

omelettez

16 Comments leave one →
  1. pancakez permalink*
    February 27, 2009 1:19 pm

    That’s what she said!

    Next time a cop stops you for speeding just tell him you paid for that gas and you can use it however you want. I’m sure he’ll just give you a warning.

  2. February 27, 2009 4:10 pm

    I pretend the fifteen bucks is just a cover charge to get in to the club. Still have rules to follow, laws to obey, social etiquette to uphold. Never have used this excuse but I have heard it from time to time. It’s laughable. I guess since I pay taxes I can spend the night in the White House as often as I choose.

  3. February 27, 2009 10:53 pm

    WARNING: Wall-O-Text INC!

    I will have to admit that I have used the $15 argument. In my defense it’s normally reserved in response to something like, “Noob shaman you need to heal more and not dps …”. That kind of mentality isn’t looking for my valid reasoning on my loadout. They aren’t interested giving constructive criticism – just grief. The Shaman mechanic is such that a little DPS makes my heals a little better, but piker isn’t interested in that – he see’s too much red, thus the healer isn’t doing the job to his specification. Thus my play of the $15 card.

    I normally try to ‘play my role’ though I won’t go out of my way to metagame my build or do indepth research for every toon I have. I just don’t min/max. I will take constructive feedback. If it’s reasonable, and makes sense I may even adopt it. “Position behind your opponent and use knockback to push them deeper into your lines”? That makes sense, I can do that. “Don’t DPS so much, we’ve plenty of DPS and not so many healers.” That makes sense, I can do that.

    I agree, there are many people that use the $15 as a cop out and that’s bunk. But the argument has merit. If you aren’t being constructive in your criticism then you are essentially directing. There are only two people I take direction from: my boss and … my boss with benefits if you will. All other direction, even from the ‘rents, is weighed on a case by case basis and most of the time given the single finger salute.

    –Wafflez

  4. Omelettez permalink*
    February 27, 2009 11:23 pm

    Aww, our lil’ adoptee made a post! *puts the Wafflez next to the Pancakez and Omelettez*

    I totally agree with the merit part. If people are being lolwut worthy, then they deserve a reply on that level. It’s when people are doing serious arguments or debates over a certain matter and people simply give up and throw that around. Though if people are going to flip out, run around in circles, and yell at me for not healing enough or DPSing enough or whatever.. oh yeah they deserve it.

    And that brings me to something else. I need to upload my middle finger macro into WAR. Too bad my Mario macro only worked in WoW =<

  5. Zensun permalink
    March 1, 2009 4:58 am

    “And when you come across a scenario where you’re the only viable healer and you insist on DPSing instead of throwing some heals around and you lose miserably due to the lack of heals, then don’t come to me or the forums to QQ about it later.”

    I love your blog, but, honestly, I think it’d more likely to be you, not the DoK, that went to the blo…, er, forums! to QQ about it later. More than the ‘it’s my $15/month’ rationale, is the rationale that it’s my *personal time*, which is infinitely more valuable.

    Giving people advice is one thing; but don’t assume that because you ‘know better’ that they’re fools for ignoring it.

  6. Omelettez permalink*
    March 1, 2009 9:11 am

    Spending personal time on an MMO sounds rather out of place. It’s hard to have personal time when it’s more of a group game, especially in a scenario. I mean, if your idea of personal time is gimping yourself and having your team ticked off at you for refusing to heal when you’re the only viable healer… well, then I guess go for it and have fun. I’ve never heard the “it’s my personal time” thing as an excuse to play poorly or be ignorant, nor do I really think it’s on par with “It’s my $15”.

    Also, you’re confusing me with Pancakez, he’s the one playing the DoK =D Though if you’re talking about me complaining about said lack of healing, of course I would! I don’t even think it’s a matter of knowing better, I would think it would be sheer common sense to try and be a team player and toss around some heals when you’re the only viable person who can do so instead of exclusively DPSing.

  7. pancakez permalink*
    March 1, 2009 1:51 pm

    “I love your blog, but, honestly, I think it’d more likely to be you, not the DoK, that went to the blo…, er, forums! to QQ about it later. More than the ‘it’s my $15/month’ rationale, is the rationale that it’s my *personal time*, which is infinitely more valuable.”

    I’d really beg to differ here. I’ve seen quite a few threads started by people acting like this and running around whining on the basis that it’s their money and they can do as they please. I’ve never seen someone complain that it’s their ‘personal time’ however, so I’m not sure where that came from. The reason I’ve never heard it is probably that it makes even less sense. WAR is team based, especially in scenarios, so any argument that it’s your personal time falls short pretty quickly. Really, what we’re talking about here is the playground ball-hog mentality, or the childish reaction to take your ball and go home when things don’t go your way.

    Really immaturity and poor play and only offering pitiful excuses that it’s your personal time, or that it’s your money? That’s the problem, not the original actions. I don’t care if a Shaman breaks the mold and starts rocking the DPS, killing people like a maniac. I’m not sure it’s possible, but I’d have no problem if it happened. Now if that same Shaman is in a group with no healer and the team die without making an effort, then says ‘well, it’s my personal time!’ That’s a crappy excuse, just like saying ‘it’s my 15$’ would be. If there is a valid excuse, use it. If people are just whining, tell them to bugger off, or ignore them. Don’t sit there and try to defend bad play with bad arguments.

  8. afinalcadence permalink
    March 1, 2009 6:26 pm

    I’ve been following this blog for a while now, and I’ve agreed with most of the things you’ve said. But this, I really just can’t agree with.

    I play games to have fun, and not to win, though I also recognize when playing a game the way I want might detract from another person’s fun.

    Sometimes I’ll play a shooter, and just pick up a knife and waste an hour just trying to kill one person, and dying twenty times in the process. Yeah, I could go pick up a sniper and win a couple matches, but I don’t have fun playing that way. The same thing for Warhammer. It is my “fifteen dollars” and my time. I’ll do what I want with it, even if that means playing in a less than efficient way. Using your Warcraft thing: What if I played a Druid and specced pure Restoration but then said, I feel like tanking. Hey guys, can I tank Molten Core this time around in my Restoration build? If it’s okay with the group, I’m going to do that, regardless of how stupid it may be, just for the fun of it.

    That being said, personally, if I see that I’m the only healer in a group, I will stop to heal. I’ll put on all of my healing tactics and all of my healing gear and heal my butt off. I’m not interested in ruining the group’s experience just for my own sake. Usually, if I find I really can’t play a game a way I want without getting serious flak and upsetting everyone, I’ll just stop playing the game all together.

    “Like all you anti-social soloers out there. It’s your $15 and you’re going to solo, right? You know, it would be much easier to form a group to take on those PQs than solo-farm stage 1 over and over.”

    Sure it would be easier, but if I prefer doing it the “harder” way, why should I do it any other way?

    “Reminds me of Shadow Priests in BGs back in WoW who were insistent on melting faces while 3 alliance players focus fired me. Thank you, Mr. Shadow Priest, for being a moron. We could’ve been more successful and stop them from capping the flag if you had stopped attempting to DPS and heal me instead. I was already out damaging you by 100k.”

    What if this Shadow Priest had rolled a Rogue instead? And what if this same exact Rogue joined your battleground. Are you going to get upset with him for not having rolled a healer? No. You say: Damn. I wish we had healers and leave it at that. It’s the same thing so you shouldn’t feel indignant for his choice.

    If you want to argue the viability of the Shadow spec, then do you get mad at players for rolling a gimped class? If the Shadow Priest was underperforming due to balancing issues, but chose to play it anyway, is that any different from a player choosing to roll a gimped class? Do you say: “Damn Druid! You should’ve rolled a Priest!”

    “Really, what we’re talking about here is the playground ball-hog mentality, or the childish reaction to take your ball and go home when things don’t go your way.”

    Who’s being immature? If the ball isn’t yours, do you have a right to claim how the game should be played? Are you saying illegal immigrants should be able to vote and get the same rights as tax payers? They are after all, living in the same “playground” as you. [I’m not saying whether they should or shouldn’t. I’m just using this extreme example to get my point across. I hope I don’t start a political war here ;b]

    My point is, the excuse [it’s my 15$] is a valid excuse, but not if you’re using it out of ignorance instead of preference. If the person in question can’t preface the excuse with “I understand,” then you can complain. But that’s just a matter of ignorance, and ignorance is ignorance no matter what excuse you give [hate the ignorance, not the excuse].

  9. pancakez permalink*
    March 1, 2009 7:12 pm

    Wow, wall of text critically misses the point for way too much!

    Seriously? xD Your last line actually sums up this entire thing. Almost everyone using this kind of logic is already using it out of ignorance and by using it, you’re just acting ignorant on top of it all.

    If you really want to attack examples you should probably defend yours better… the reason you wouldn’t complain about a Rogue not healing is because they have no option to, the Shadow Priest does. The Shadow Priest was making a conscious decision to not utilize their skills. Tanking as a Restoration Druid after your group gives you the okay? Who cares, the group said okay. Do you think the same would hold weight if the Druid did not mention being Restoration, or worse claimed to be Feral? Illegal immigrants? I mean, let’s not get into the whole political aspect but uh… the WAR comparison to that would be saying that people who pirated the game and buy/sell gold deserve equal treatment by Mythic. Oh wait they get banned…..

    That’s the problem though, the excuse itself is ignorant. It’s perfectly fine to use it as a way to blow people off, because you don’t care about any form of debate. So is saying, ‘Holy crap Shaman can HEAL!?’ So is telling them their mom smells like goat cheese (which is a compliment, really). The problem is that people use it as if it’s some form of rhetorical IWIN button, when it’s really just a great example of a red herring. Someone tells you that you suck, you reply by telling them that you’re actually paying to suck.

    I mean uh… huh?

  10. Omelettez permalink*
    March 1, 2009 7:24 pm

    The whole point of the post was that people need to stop using it as an end all for arguments over anything. If people are going to insist on being ignorant, then they should at least try to stand up for themselves. Interesting to see people get all huffy over if a healer should do damage or not and vice versa instead.

    I had a somewhat inspiring reply to post, but I think it’s just going to fall upon deaf ears. Our play styles are way too different to keep up an intelligent conversation, in my eyes.

  11. March 2, 2009 2:59 am

    Pancakez, your not a dentist are you? Cause I think you hit a nerve with this post.

    Personally, I think that any excuse for playing poorly is garbage. Why would you want to play poorly? When did losing become fun? When did sucking become the ‘in’ thing?

    ‘It’s My Fifteen Bucks’ translates in my mind as: ‘you caught me being a dumb jackass online and now I have to use some witty excuse to tell you to go X yourself’ in an attempt to save my pride. Heaven forbid I should take your advice and improve my game a little.

    Your the tank, tank. Your the DPS, DPS. Your the healer, heal. Simple rules, simple rules. If you don’t wanna follow them, maybe you should donate that ’15 bucks’ to a more noble cause. Then we can get some real heals up in here, eh?

  12. March 2, 2009 3:06 am

    Correction this was Omelettez’s post. I apologize.

    I’m a bit slow and often find myself handing out fifteen dollars to random children to pay for their online gaming. -NS

  13. Omelettez permalink*
    March 2, 2009 11:16 am

    Sadly, not a dentist. But I am a graphic design student who critiques like a hard ass, if that counts!

    Pancakez and I were discussing a couple of days ago what people could use the fifteen dollars that would embracing the sucking factor =P

  14. Datum permalink
    March 5, 2009 8:55 pm

    I think the excuser being an ASS (Anti-Social Soloer) pretty much sums it up!

Trackbacks

  1. Introduction to the WCPI « Gaarawarr Gabs
  2. The First (and second) 5,000 « Gaarawarr Gabs

Leave a Reply

