Skip to content

There is no “I” in team, but there is an “I” in pie

February 23, 2009

And there’s an “I” in meat pie. Anagram of meat is team… I don’t know what he’s talking about.

Playing on my Blackguard lately has been a blast. It’s quite a change from playing on my Zealot. I enjoy running in and putting pressure on healers and squishes while being able to help protect my teammates, though I’m usually protecting Pancakez as he heals me. I still get nervous on and off about if I’m doing my job correctly and efficiently. Then I wonder what exactly is the correct way of playing a tank archtype in WAR. Regardless if we’re using a sword and board or a 2hander, I feel that tanks are meant for CC, pushing the enemy line back, and protecting your allies.

Then there are people who talk about not being able to kill other classes 1v1. I get extremely puzzled by statements like this. I don’t get puzzled over the idea of tanks doing some DPS. You kind of have to do damage in order to tank to some extent. I get puzzled over the fact people expect to run in by themselves and solo people with absolutely no problem.

If I’ve said it once, I’ve said it a million times. MMOs are not single-player games. They are group games. It’s not about being that lone warrior that takes on half the town before walking off into the sunset. Only Clint Eastwood can do that, and last time I checked he doesn’t play WAR. So first off, running in by yourself, trying to accomplish everything on your own? Not going to work, pal. I read on the forums somewhere about a tank complaining about not able to solo any classes, but he did fine when he followed the melee-assist train. Hmmm… I wonder why? Might have to do with the concept that you have to work with other people to accomplish something.

And then there’s the killing aspect. My initial thought when I rolled my Blackguard wasn’t to go on a killing spree. I wanted to CC people, piss them off, and have them pay attention to me while my scantily-clad melee friends can stab them to death. I wasn’t thinking, “Yeah, I’m going to do some mad DPS on this bad boy!” And I know there are different types of tanking, ranging from the pure defense to the full-blown offensive, but wanting to top DPS charts and killing blows and so on? Don’t be kidding yourself.

People want Mythic to buff the damage output for tanks, which I have mixed feelings about. Pancakez was saying that they shouldn’t be OP gods of war, but at the same time they shouldn’t be outdone by a single HoT placed on their target. I wish people would embrace the idea of a tank being a protector of some sort, may it be defensive or offensive, instead of a deadly DPSer in heavy armor. Honestly, if you want to be pwning faces, you should be rolling a DPS class of some sort.

I think it comes down to people not wanting to group up and work with other people. Ok, so you can’t kill other people, but guess what? If you team up with that group of DPSers and healers, I’m sure you guys can coordinate a strategy and take on a bunch of enemies. It’s not always all about you. Majority of the time, it’s about the people around you. And if you can’t deal with working with other people, maybe you should go back to console games and solo against the computer to your heart’s content.

omelettez

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 23, 2009 11:54 am

    Omelettez – you are spot on in your analysis of what a ‘Tank’ should be doing in WAR, at least IMHO.

    Tanks don’t DPS. There are two classes for that already. Sure they need to DPS some but most of mine (Knight) seems to be DoTs that help me maintain aggro (at least in PvE). In PvP my job, as I see it, is to wreak havoc in the backfield (in open space combat) or hold the line (in Keep fights).

    When I played a Prot specced Pally in WoW there was a similar call to buff Pally DPS. Someone posted something on the boards that has stuck with me as THE defining quote for a ‘tank’:

    Fighting a Paladin [tank] is like smoking – if you persist it will eventually kill you but you can quit at any time.

Leave a Reply

