Skip to content

i want to be different… just like everybody else

February 23, 2009
tags:

Do you know what it means to be hip and trendy? There are dictionaries and encyclopedias (wikipedias at least) that can tell you all these awesome things about hipsters and beatniks, but do you really know what it means to be trendy? Look around a high school sometime and take a look at what’s hip and cool and all that jazz… I mean, stuff? @#$%? What’s the popular term for that these days? I think @#$% is probably what’s most jive with turkeys these days, because it’s the most vulgar of the choices.

Back when I was in highschool, I was cool. My hair was spiked, I had piercings, I skateboarded to school (and in school), skipped class and was generally a little heathen. Why? Well… it was the 90s and @#$% mainstream bull@#$% man!

You know what trendy meant then? What it means now? Hating things that are popular. If you like something that’s popular, you’re retarded. Probably a Communist… except Communists aren’t popular, which means.. they are popular? Metallica? Horrible band. Just awful and horrible, who could like a band that popular? We should all be emo. Wait, that’s popular now? @#$%ing emo kids, they’re so… emo.

Really though, I’m not a teenager anymore. I don’t have a black mohawk with blonde tips. I can’t get my eyebrow re-pierced because it isn’t PC enough for a job interview. I certainly can’t skateboard around high schools and pick up little preppy girls. I wouldn’t want to anyway… except maybe the hair and eyebrow. I like how I looked like that, when I look back. Why does someone have to die to be recognized as acceptable to be popular?

We all enjoyed… that… and now we don’t. Does that make it horrible? No. Do ten million people enjoying it make it bad? No.

I like Britney Spears music. Metallica never sold out. I like Justin Timberlake. I think Orlando Bloom has nice hair. Halo was a good shooter. Jean Luc Picard is god. Death Metal is sounds like a garbage disposal mating with a hamster. Sean Penn deserved his Oscar.

…and you know what? WoW wasn’t a bad game.

pancakez

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Nurgle'sServant permalink
    February 24, 2009 1:25 am

    I emphatize… as it perplexes how tastes for music/movies/anime/video games have changed during the past few years. And their overhyped bull#*$% in all its glory. What worries me is classics that redefined the media going out circulations and into the annals(I should say bowels) of history. Their greatness forgotten.

    Maybe I’m just being paranoid or maybe the years have made me rugged to change.

    Popular isn’t always horrible. However Halo < CounterStrike all the way :-).

  2. February 24, 2009 11:36 am

    I just want to drop a quick comment here and say that I loved this post!

  3. February 24, 2009 12:35 pm

    Yeah, I don’t see why WoW has become such a bad thing to be compared to. It’s like it’s a swear word now.

  4. Stonesledge permalink
    February 25, 2009 3:45 am

    I have to agree with you although there were some things I did not agree with.
    there is a French saying that goes like this:

    If the whole world would do something stupid, it would still be stupid.

    Your post kinda reminded me of that one.
    Oh, in 2012, evil ninja-wizard-robots who are also zombies will take over the world, so why worry?
    Cheerio 🙂

  5. Wally permalink
    February 25, 2009 11:33 am

    Amen, brother…I’m way late to the MMORPG genre but loves me some WAR. I graduated HS during the halcyon days of grunge. I completely, totally, sympathize and agree w/ur post.

    Except about they eye-piercing…Oh and I think the iPod sux…the Zune totally kicks its ass.

Leave a Reply

