Skip to content

Guild shopping

February 18, 2009

The other night, I had a lovely conversation with Pancakez about guilds. We don’t want it to be just the two of us doing everything by ourselves for the rest of our time in WAR. We want to immerse ourselves in a guild, know other people, play with them, and have a good time. I can think of all the past guilds I was a part of in past MMOs and all the great memories I had. Granted, there were some horrible ones, too, but you make the best out of it. 

So where do we go to which guilds are recruiting? The Warhammer Alliance forums, of course! Just go to the US realm area, then the Destro guild sub-section, and scan away. Sadly for us, all the ones we looked at, regardless of being casual or hardcore, there’s a minimum rank of 30 to apply. Seeing that we haven’t hit that on any of our characters, it’s a bit hard. Then we need to figure out which pair of characters we want to take past rank 30. We also need to keep in mind that some guilds need more classes than others. From what I saw alone, a lot of guilds on our server seem to be wanting Black Orcs and Zealots over Blackguards and DoKs. Not saying they don’t want the latter at all, but there seems to be a higher demand with the first option.

Then Pancakez posed to the question to me, “Which would you be prouder to have as a rank 40, Zealot or Blackguard?” And honestly? I still don’t know after last night. I enjoy healing and I enjoy locking down squishies. The only thing I fear is that when we reach endgame that people would prefer I put on a shield and tank keep lords on my Blackguard. I’d prefer going in and annoying healers and casters in the backrow, to be honest. I don’t know how open end game is to that, I’ve yet to reach it, but I’d like to think that anything goes.

Aside from which characters we pick, we also have to pick which play style we want from a guild. I’m inching closer to my final year at college, and each semester only grows harder. There may be a week where I won’t be able to play due to working on projects or being in a play. So maybe casual is more for us. Then again, we don’t want to log on and have everyone be too casual to the point they don’t want to run scenarios or help take down a fortress. We may not play everyday, but when we do play, we play to win. We like coming on and having other people have the same driven attitude we have about playing. I like there being scheduled events and pre-made groups, though with something being that organized usually comes a strict atmosphere. If you’re not on for a couple of days then people freak out. If you don’t tell them you can’t make a night of raiding because you’d rather curl up with a good book for the night, they’ll also freak out. Sometimes I like the micromanaging of guilds like that, and sometimes I don’t. Guess it depends on how much caffeine I drink that morning.

I just hope in a month or so we find a nice place to call home. I hope the guild will be able to take use seriously as players but still be able to joke around with us about random nonsense. I also hope that they’ll be able to recruit as a “package deal,” for a lack of better terms. I don’t want the two of us to apply somewhere and only I get in or he does. We’re playing the game together, so I’d prefer to be in the same guild. 

So here’s to finding a home in the near future. To all you destro guilds out there, prepare for the cynical, sarcastic, and overly adorable couple that is us.

omelettez

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2009 11:36 am

    Which server are you folks on?

  2. pancakez permalink*
    February 18, 2009 3:11 pm

    We aren’t advertising for guilds to recruit us, she just wanted to talk about our desire to find a guild that fits what we want out of the game. Our server is and has always been listed in our ‘menu.’

  3. DeadpoolNakago permalink
    February 18, 2009 8:58 pm

    I actually used to be on Badlands server, then I got the RP bug. Now I run my own destro guild, cult of Slaanesh, because I hate the Raven god 🙂

  4. Omelettez permalink*
    February 18, 2009 11:16 pm

    We used to be on an RP server back in WoW, but the amount of people who didn’t even bother to read up on the lore bugged us to no end.

Leave a Reply

