Skip to content

make up your minds

February 9, 2009

First we had Keg End, which never seemed to go away. Now we have Night of Murder, which can be completed in just that long. I wish they’d make up their minds. I hated the rewards for Keg End, so I never did it. Instead I just had to put up with ‘YAY, HIP HORRAY!’ coming through my speakers every time I went anywhere remotely close to a warcamp, city, chapter hub… The best part? The random heroes wandering RVR lakes. That was pretty nifty. Now we have Night of Murder, which is fun and not annoying. In a way it reminds me of the Hallow’s End event, or the Heavy Metal event, both of which were very cool. The downside for me is the influence just felt poorly implemented.

Here’s all you really have to do: Queue for scenarios, while doing the Marked quest the full 10 times. You’ll be pretty close to done, if not done. Your first scenario could complete the 5 guild officers and 1 guild leader requirement as well as doing marked 3-4 times and getting 25 player kills. Omelettez and I were halfway to Advanced after our first scenario. About three later we were elite. I think time spent playing to go from empty to elite was about four hours… Now, we still haven’t killed 10 keep lords (PVE trains are boring to us) and we haven’t found an altar of Khaine, but all we’d get for that is a title. It sucks because I love this event. The skull tossing, mark of death bringing slaughter style event is just very cool. I wish they’d just thought it out a bit more and made it take some more effort. I really like challenges like Heavy Metal and Hallow’s End presented because, for one, I never completed either one. I didn’t put in the work and didn’t get anything in return. Sadly I still put in no effort for Night of Murder and got two titles, a very cool trophy and an epic ring six days before the actual ‘night’ in question.

I really hope there is more polish put into the Bitter Rivals event and the rest of the upcoming events that are planned. Considering the wait time I can only assume that there is, so my expectations aren’t low at all… I just don’t want unlocking my Choppa early to feel effortless. I hope that’s not inevitable and I hope I won’t simply be Choppa #147,863… *sigh*

As a side note this video over at Ten Ton Hammer has given some insight into Choppa gameplay along with one big jewel: mastery paths. Now, it doesn’t give all the details, but it does tell us what the mastery trees are for which I’m very excited to hear about. Path of the Savage, giving nod to another tabletop unit is a flavor tree and is apparently balanced between using your berserk rage and letting it build. Path of the Big Hitta, my personal favorite since it centers on great weapons and dealing burst damage. Finally Path of the Wrecka which is all about flailing about, hacking away and generally causing havoc while going berserk. Definitely awesome news, hopefully because they can use great weapons we’ll see some new models for Black Orc as well.

Anyone else get a kick out of the interviewer saying ‘Slaya’ at the end?

pancakez

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2009 7:54 pm

    This is exactly the problem I think Mythic faces as they go forward with improving their game. Players complain because they have to put too much effort to achieve something. When the designers change the system, reducing the amount of effort required to achieve the thing, players complain that it’s become too easy.

    I agree that Mythic made this live event drastically different from the last, and the designers need to make up their minds as to the difficulty of these events. Ultimately the players also must make up their minds as to how much of a “grind” they actually want.

  2. pancakez permalink*
    February 9, 2009 8:09 pm

    I’m not sure it’s fair to say that about players. It’s certainly not true of most I’ve been exposed to in WAR, or even past games. There are the token forum whiners, to be sure, but most players I run into want a pretty simple thing. They want the effort to match the reward. Big reward? Big effort. Small reward? Small effort.

    What we saw in Keg End was a lot of effort for little reward, the best rewards being sold over the auction house. Now we see Night of Murder where the rewards are actually very cool, but the effort required is as follows: Queue for scenarios, pick up quest at starting point, kill people. If you’re lucky enough to get a skull, toss it back and forth between you and a friend five times to get to elite even quicker.

    My title was purely for designers. Should we get crappy rewards for a ton of work, or have to do almost no work for great rewards? I in no way meant this article to insinuate anything negative about players… though I do share Omelettez feelings towards people farming low-tier PQs for free influence. It’s hard to hate them too much though, because doing that is substantially slower than farming scenarios.

  3. asda permalink
    February 13, 2009 2:53 pm

    Altar of Khaine isn’t that hard to find, they are shown on the Map.

  4. Omelettez permalink*
    February 13, 2009 3:29 pm

    Because, you know, when I see the words “Altar of Khaine”, I instinctively pull out my handy-dandy map to pinpoint it right away.

    They do say in the Tome of Knowledge, in like one sentence if I recall, where the altars are. Seriously though, it just says to get a blessing there or what not. None of the hags tell you about them. All they inform you of are the marks. I’m sure if you’re in an ORvR, it’s easy to find. From a designer’s stand point, they did a crap job at explaining it. They did a good job with the marks, I give them that, but the altar? It’s like they threw it in last minute, wrote a line, then shoved it into the tome.

  5. February 15, 2009 6:23 pm

    Probably sounds so stupid but how do you do the ‘Skull Throw’ thing? I can’t seem to figure it out *head down – ashamed look on face*

  6. Omelettez permalink*
    February 15, 2009 7:02 pm

    When you’re in RvR, sometimes enemies drop a purple item called “Lobbin’ Noggin.” If you get that, you can then use it to chuck at your allies. Each time you throw it, it counts towards one of the objectives. If you have a friend and have a skull to toss around, the two of you can toss it back and forth to each other until the objective is completely. Wicked easy to get done, just a matter of find a noggin!

  7. February 16, 2009 1:47 pm

    Cheers for that Omelettez :), I’ll be on the look out for them now 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Alt Much? » Altitis - not just limited to gaming

Leave a Reply

