Skip to content

Last Night’s Stonetroll Crossing

January 26, 2009

Pancakez and I had the lovely chance to play in a pretty badass Stonetroll Crossing game. I’m usually not too fond of this one, but it kept popping up in queue, so might as well, right? The first game we did we absolutely steamrolled Order. Like, we had the ball at one point and pacified all the locations without a single Order dude coming after us. I think we won sheerly based on how stupid Order was at the moment. The next one ended in like, 5 minutes due to there being only 2 people on Order. Damn side imbalance!

And then our third one… oh our third one. It was amazing. And the only way it was amazing was the fact we didn’t even play the actual game. I don’t know how it happened, but it went from chasing the ball carrier to camping the Order spawn point. We were never close enough for them to just pewpew us from range. We were far away enough for them having to come out and fight us. We almost lost due to them having a lead from capping points, but we won strictly from kicking their butts. It’s been a very long time since I’ve had an adrenaline kick like this. I have two or three people on me, trying to take me down, while I’m trying to heal Pancakez, everyone else, and myself. Being able to live through that and keep everyone else up (ok, so a few retards died =P) was such a rush. I loved it. It’s moments like that which remind me why I love playing RvR so much. I didn’t even care about the fact I got outhealed massively by an Archmage. Being successful enough to keep others and myself up in such an intense situation is rewarding enough.

So that’s my rave, but my eye is still twitching, so now onto the rant. 

I typically don’t care who picks up a murder ball or flag or whatever. I’ve done flag running on my Warlock and Mage in WoW all the damn time. If you got skill, then you can do it. And there are times when you’re in the heat of battle and you’re trying to grab the flag or ball so the other side doesn’t grab it. At that point, whoever on your side can grab it is better than the other side getting it at all. But when your entire team is by the flag or ball, with NO opposing force, with THREE high ranking tanks with shields by it…. don’t grab it. Seriously now. I don’t care how mad your skillz are at this point. The tank is going to live longer and take on a mass amount of people the moment the flood of Order come in. 

And if you’re wondering why I’m facepalming over this is during one of the matches, we were in this situation. I remember Pancakez TRYING to get the flag and was suddenly going, “Shit, who the hell got the ball?” over Vent. So a Magus ended up getting it. Not only did he jump off on his own, he ran… or hovered, whatever you silly disc surfers do… without us, and ended up dying before we could even make it to him.

This all goes back to my idea that people need to work as a team and not be some solo hero on the battlefield. The game isn’t WoW. It’s not a game of one person being able to survive and solo a crap ton of people. People truly need to work together in order to win a scenario. A lot of times I see Destruction losing to Order mainly due to others not cooperating. I’m not saying that’s the only reason why people lose scenarios. The other side might be just THAT badass. Who knows. But next you decide to go grab a ball flag, just don’t think you can win it all on your own. 

omelettez

4 Comments leave one →
  1. peequeque permalink
    January 26, 2009 10:52 am

    I definitely get my best rush from healing in the thick of battle like that, and not necessarily healbotting like that archmage was.

    By the way, your automatically generated “Related” post about Santana Moss’s touchdown celebration made me laugh.

  2. Omelettez permalink*
    January 26, 2009 11:12 am

    HAHA! That’s hysterical. Silly automated related posts.

  3. meteorfall permalink
    January 26, 2009 12:41 pm

    Heh, I’ve seen a few guys trying to rush the damn flag. It actually worked once, but most of the time they’d just get owned by the upcoming KotBS (Nerf ’em !). Also, I love how Idiots comes out huge on your tag cloud 😉

  4. Omelettez permalink*
    January 26, 2009 2:16 pm

    Yeah, idiots has become a favored tag of ours. I always giggle when I check out the blog and see this huge IDIOTS thing from the corner of my eye.

Leave a Reply

