Skip to content

Itemization for Healers

January 25, 2009

If there’s one thing that frustrates me in this game, it’s the choice of items for healers. I think it’s brilliant that most of the healing classes have a great chance to fight and defend themselves. It’s even more awesome when Pancakez can round up baddies on his Black Orc and I AoE them down on my Zealot. That or I can throw a couple of spells at some people trying to attack me. That’s great, but the amount of gear with int on it is insane, and not in a good way.

I rolled a Zealot to be a healer. I want to heal people, not hurt them… even though I wish I could throw dots on idiots in RvR, but that’s besides the point. I can’t tell you how many green or blue items have dropped for us and yay! It’s for a Zealot! And it has… oh, int. I mean, it’s not like I suddenly can’t heal, but I can’t heal nearly as well. And this doesn’t just apply for my Zealot either. I remember when I had my Archmage and even my Disciple how much gear there was for DPS. Mythic must think that everyone wants to wtfpwn people with mad DPS or something.

But… I just want to heal! =(

And for end-game, I’ve read from a lot of people who do want to do DPS on their healy types really can’t find good enough gear. The way I see it is if I want to DPS, I would’ve just rolled a DPS class, but seeing that there are DPS options for the healy types, it’s going to make people more willing to try out just DPS.

What boggles me is people saying, “Well, this class is a hybrid. Blah blah blah.” Aside from the fact I roll my eyes over people debating what is and isn’t a hybrid, there really isn’t good enough gear that encourages people to be hybrids. Nor are there really many spells that do that. Warrior Priests and Disciples of Khaine have a bunch of DMG = Healing stuff, but the others don’t really get something unique like that unless you go up a mastery tree. Even then, they rely more on int over willpower.

All in all, I hope Mythic fixes the poor choice of items. I hope they either add both int and willpower to items equally, or weigh it a certain way, so a healy item will have more willpower than int and a dps item will have more int than willpower. And if they can’t do that, then I hope they think over long and hard about the mechanics of the healers.

omelettez

4 Comments leave one →
  1. pancakez permalink*
    January 25, 2009 4:26 pm

    I canz agree. I really think there should be some form of token system. Renown purchased gear is well and good, but there’s really the one item for each class at that R/RR, with maybe some weapon options (1h, 2h, offhand, shield, etc)… but really, there’s no options on anything else. My Warrior Priest had +30 strength on his gear, I really never needed strength with what I did, just like if I was Grace I wouldn’t have needed the 50-60 unavoidable willpower. My Shaman avoided Int by finding items with nothing but Wounds. I tried to have two sets of gear for my Ironbreaker, but I got tired of it because I’d find one good item with nothing but strength and weapon skill, then I wouldn’t find another for ten levels. By then my ‘defensive’ set had more strength on it, so I sold all my strength stuff. Same with my Chosen. On my Black Orc I haven’t bothered. I switch on a two-hander to AOE when I need it and that’s that.

  2. arbitrary permalink
    January 25, 2009 4:57 pm

    I find the same with my RP, it’s very frustrating to look for good healing gear sometimes, or even gear that I personally want.

  3. January 25, 2009 5:07 pm

    Warrior Priest/Disciple is really the only hybrid in WAR so far. They can, to some extent, ignore willpower and focus on strength gear, while still doing some impressive healing. Of course being in melee to heal has its drawbacks.

    What all healers would need is a Willpower -> Intelligence/Strength ability. Even WoW has it.

  4. Omelettez permalink*
    January 25, 2009 5:16 pm

    The Willpower –> Int/Str is a good idea. As long as they don’t do something like, spellpower or whatever it is that WoW is doing now. At first, I didn’t like it due to both casters and healers going for the same gear in some sense. But that aside, I think it could overpower healers if they got something equivalent to spellpower.

Leave a Reply

