Skip to content

The so-called “state of the game.”

January 22, 2009

I’m not entirely sure if it’s a good or bad thing to go onto Warhammer Alliance and read a post saying that Mythic fired a bunch of employees recently. Maybe they were weeding out the idiots who were causing the bugs for Zealot marks. If that’s the case, I’m thrilled, but it probably isn’t. And because of this, everyone who has half a brain, which is apparently a lot, are running around in circles, screaming, crying, moaning, and complaining about the game coming to an end.

….what?

The game hasn’t even been out for 4 months yet and people are claiming that it’s dead? I really fail to see this at all. Let us go over this in some more detail.

  1. What MMO honestly starts selling millions and pleases every single person the first few months it is released? I don’t want to bring other games into the equation, but look at World of Warcraft. There were server restarts. Like you lost EVERYTHING. I remember Penny Arcade poking fun at it, saying a lot of people went back to Everquest. Now the MMO is insanely popular. I remember playing Final Fantasy Online, back when you were randomly placed on a server and couldn’t choose which server you could be on until lvl 13 or something. Now that was horrible. It got over a lot of those bumps and is still relatively successful.
  2. People say that end-game is dead and is more PvE based. I can’t truly say anything, because I’ve yet to hit rank 40 on any of my toons. But dear god, the core game is so much fun! That’s probably why I haven’t hit rank 40 yet. It keeps getting better and better for me. I’ve had so much enjoyment doing scenarios and ORvR that I can’t wait to hit 40. A lot of MMOs don’t release all the content right away either when a game first comes out. Again, look at Warcraft. People who remember the game from way back when remember there was just Molten Core and Onyxia… and then Blackwing Lair, and then Zul’Gurub, and then AQ20 and 40 (I can’t remember the spelling of that place to save my life, so it’s staying abbreviated), and then Naxxramas. There might not be a lot going on in WAR for end-game, but I bet you the developers are busting their butts right now to fix it.
  3. Someone had posted in the forums at one point about how people are complaining over nothing, and then quit the game. Seriously now. I believe he said something to the affect of, “Oh noes! I spilled coffee on myself! I’m returning the coffee machine!” Now, aside from the fact I cracked up for five minutes and had to share that with everyone, the dude had a point. I truly think the people who are complaining this much need to shut up for a second and relax. OH NOEZ, you lagged in a scenario and died and are now quiting the game. Really now? Do you give up this easily in real life? I see so many posts of people saying they’re quitting because such-and-such a class is underpowered and their mirrorclass is OP, or how Warcraft is better, or some other stupid reason… And it’s only been 3 and a half months.

But maybe the game is dying. I see some things here and there that make me go, “What were you thinking, Mythic?” Like the amount of servers available is insane. You don’t need that many on a release day. And then I think about how they put in the Blackguards and Knights of Bull Shit- I mean Blazing Sun, and how successful that was. And they plan to do the same for the two melee dps classes. And they plan to do something about end-game. Or even think about the things to come, like the cities they have to still put in. There’s so much to look forward to, and I get sad when people don’t excited about the future, and just complain about the moment. So what if that OP Witch Elf just kicked your ass. Maybe it was a really badass player. Or maybe you just suck that much.

Either way, I’m sticking to WAR to the end.

omelettez

4 Comments leave one →
  1. pancakez permalink*
    January 22, 2009 8:09 pm

    GET TO DA CHOPPA! …and I think it was Ahn’Qiraj? Yeah, let’s just say AQ, it doesn’t sound as stupid.

  2. Omelettez permalink*
    January 22, 2009 8:10 pm

    Yeah, it’s staying as AQ. Definitely sounds less retarded.

  3. January 23, 2009 2:29 pm

    I predict that WAR picks up steam here in the next couple of months. It will be improved and have Choppah’s and Slayers added, more folks will be done playing with WoW’s expansion, etc. As long as Mythic keeps doing what they have been doing by working to improve the game and communicating with the players it’ll work out.

  4. Omelettez permalink*
    January 24, 2009 9:04 am

    I think it will, too. It just puzzles me when people leave over something like lag in a scenario and claim that Mythic is doing nothing about everything. I also know a bunch of people who are playing WoW and are already sick and tired of it. Not saying it’s a bad expansion, I haven’t touched it, but it could potentially be a good thing for WAR.

Leave a Reply

