Skip to content

i’ve never been good at these

April 21, 2009

I’m not sure what to say.

This has probably been building ever since the testing phase of 1.2. It was around then that I realized that the game I’d fallen in love with was being pushed away from me by its designers. Balance was stripped away bit by bit until I had nothing positive to say about the game. I’ve enjoyed playing WAR, but the truth is if it weren’t for this blog I’d have quit over a month ago.

After this last month and the release of 1.2.1, I’d hoped that things would get better. Instead we’ve gotten the second patch in a row that wasn’t tested and had to be hotfixed repeatedly to make the game remotely playable. I don’t believe Mythic has any direction in WAR. They continue to introduce uncompelling PVE content to endgame. They allow the most epic enemies in the game to be kited to death by Bright Wizards. Meanwhile they repeatedly show a lack of knowledge in balancing PVP content. I knew before hand that Dark Age of Camelot had a lackluster and off-balance PVP system, but from what I’d seen pre-1.2 Mythic had worked out the bugs. Now I’ve only been repeatedly reminded that the early balance and fun wasn’t intentional and has been gradually phased out.

I can’t keep giving money to Mythic to play a game that peaks at low levels. PVE content may not be the focus, but why does it have to be bad as well? PVP isn’t balanced. The game lacks focus… and honestly, I’m not having any fun at all anymore. I see too many players who just wanted an escape from WoW after not being able to stay above a 1500 rating. Too many players who think DAoC was a great game. All that aside though, I love the blogging community and especially the WCPI. We never expected to receive as much of a following as it’s grown into. The spotlights from Warhammer Alliance in particular gave us more viewership than we could ever have hoped.

This blog was made at a time where Omelettez and I were going through a lot of hard times and being embraced as we have been helped a great deal. It might seem cheesy, but you guys didn’t just help get us by in the game, but helped our relationship as well. We’re a lot closer and honestly we’re just at a point where we no longer need to cling to WAR to keep us together.

For Wafflez: I hope the computer problems work themselves out. Sorry we won’t get to play with you anymore.

To Iridar: We enjoyed playing with you as well. It might not been often, or for very long, but it was fun.

To Frank: Thanks for inviting us to the the podcast. I’m glad it was before we became so downtroden, it was very fun.

For Martin: You’re awesome. I wish my arm wasn’t busted up, I’d make you a goodbye-gif.

To everyone else, I hope you guys are having a lot more fun than we have been. I really hope WAR turns around and proves to be something great again. Sorry we won’t be around to cheer alongside you. I still don’t know what to say, or if what I’ve said is enough. This just isn’t the game for me. I wish I’d realized that sooner. Good luck everyone.

pancakez

31 Comments leave one →
  1. meteorfall permalink
    April 21, 2009 7:59 pm

    Oh HELL NO ! I got first comment about 5 seconds after you posted. So I’m NOT letting you go away. Nuh-uh. At least stay for me.. please. Seriously, you will be VERY missed. It’s 3am here, I dunno what to say…

  2. meteorfall permalink
    April 21, 2009 8:01 pm

    I’m gonna spam this comment box. Beware.

  3. meteorfall permalink
    April 21, 2009 8:03 pm

    We wanted to do a Deadmines run ffs ! What MMORPG are you guys reverting to ? I will keelhaul you if you say Aion or Darkfall. Us spanktards will not let this go.

  4. April 21, 2009 8:11 pm

    Boo.

    I hope you’ll change your mind or come back after a bit of time off, but if not. You’ll be missed and the community will be poorer in your absence.

  5. meteorfall permalink
    April 21, 2009 8:15 pm

    Sign my petition Czarnal, sign it NAO ! :P
    Also I have no idea why there’s no link to Spank the Tank on my name, or is there and I can’t see it ? Moving on…

  6. pancakez permalink*
    April 21, 2009 8:19 pm

    Hey, Meteor.. it’s flattering that you’ll miss us that much, but this isn’t something that’s going to change. We’re not quitting for another game, or reverting to another game… we’re just not enjoying WAR anymore and haven’t been for a while.

  7. April 21, 2009 8:20 pm

    That sucks, I have really enjoyed your blog.

    But I got a feeling in my gut I will be writing a similar post any day, so I understand.

  8. meteorfall permalink
    April 21, 2009 8:28 pm

    Gah, not you too Regis ? Meh, we’ll be writing moar, please leave some comments on Spanktard so we can hear from you :)

  9. April 22, 2009 12:24 am

    I understand your thought process on this completely. I utterly loved the blog and the work you two have put into it.

    It is sad to see this mass of high-quality folks leaving the game (I also cancelled). Maybe Mythic will get the picture… Nah, who am I kidding?

    Good luck in whatever comes your way! Let me know if you guys start another blog project in the future!

  10. Sharon permalink
    April 22, 2009 1:02 am

    As much as I hate to say it, I completely understand. I’m nearly at that point myself. Good luck to you both. :)

  11. Feggas permalink
    April 22, 2009 1:04 am

    Sadness =(

    Now where will I get my weekly fix of moving dots?

    Shattered.

    Only 3 days left on my sub too.

  12. April 22, 2009 1:30 am

    Well, I guess pretty much everyone understands it. I wish you guys the best of luck in future enterprises (and with each other of course!)

    My sub is running out in a couple of days; the jury is still out on the re-sub.

  13. arbitrary permalink
    April 22, 2009 1:30 am

    Take care, you gave us an awesome blog, and if you decide to continue blogging, make sure you let us know on twitter!

  14. ghaz permalink
    April 22, 2009 5:29 am

    arr man that sucks! but i don’t think i could argue your leaving i’ve been thinking about it for ages lol. GL in the future and hope to see another blog by you guys sometime

    m@

  15. Squirrt permalink
    April 22, 2009 7:28 am

    Take care you two. Take a break too. Come back and try it out again in 6 months or 3 months. I am sure a lot will have changed by then. I myself am taking my own advice.

  16. April 22, 2009 7:48 am

    It’s sad to see you guys going. Good luck with whatever you decide to do.

  17. April 22, 2009 7:50 am

    I think I’m with Regis and you on this one Pancakez. The PC problems I’m currently having have just helped prompt action.

    I’ll probably renew my CoX sub for some interim gaming once my machine is up. I will probably give Champions Online a spin once it drops. Please do keep in touch – my email is in my tag.

  18. April 22, 2009 8:06 am

    I know where you’re coming from here. Partially due to internet problems I haven’t played WAR in about a month now. Will be sad to see you go.

  19. Omelettez permalink*
    April 22, 2009 8:16 am

    I don’t have much else to add, seeing that Pancakez summed it all up, but thank you guys for all the comments. We truly appreciate them. As of now, we really don’t have any plans gamewise and will probably be laying low for awhile. Our emails and Twitters are in the Menu section if you guys wish to keep in touch at all.

  20. April 22, 2009 1:30 pm

    I loved the blog, you guys both are great writers! And if you do decide to start up a new blog on another topic, post something here to let us know ;)

    Also really glad it’s been good for you iRL.

  21. April 22, 2009 2:01 pm

    ahhh crap..another great blog bites the dust..

    The game is still fun for me, but all the bloggers quiting has me thinking…

  22. Ark permalink
    April 22, 2009 5:34 pm

    Just wanted to say that I really enjoyed your blog. If you ever decide to write about, well, anything really, I’ll be sure to check it out.

    -Ark

  23. Khaindar permalink
    April 23, 2009 1:43 am

    *looks at the date* ….
    Damn not 1.April again! :(
    Im making a sad panda face right now, your blog was really enjoyable and i had a great time round here.
    Sad to see you both go, i guess your right WAR has its problems, i just dont see any alternative atm.
    Not going back to WoW, spend way to much time there, although the old guildies keep asking me to start a comeback.
    I wish you both the best of luck.

  24. Brendan permalink
    April 23, 2009 8:58 am

    Damn – I will not get my retribution on your BW. Seriously – I totally understand you moving on – I actually cancelled my sub earlier this week too. Do post if you decide to start up another blog on a different topic though – you folks are amusing as hell.

  25. April 26, 2009 10:37 pm

    Wow, I’m late to this party. Not having a job has kept me from paying attention to blogs (how weird is that?), but I sure will miss you guys. In the short time we got to play together, I really had a blast.

    Just posted to Wafflez blog – I’ve turned in my notice as well. I plan on checking back in a a year or so, if WAR is still running, just to see what’s happening. In the meantime, so long and thanks for all the fish!

  26. theerivs permalink
    April 27, 2009 11:16 am

    Wow every blogger that quits really rips a chunck out of my heart. You guys had a great blog, some awesome posts, and just did my heart good to see a couple loving a game together.

    Take care you guys.

    Rivs from Way of the Chosen
    /salute

  27. April 28, 2009 6:07 pm

    Agree with Rivs on this one, you guys were one of the blogs I followed a fair bit and now I’m truly sad to hear you’re packing it up.

    Please keep an eye on WAR and if you do start up another blog, be sure to announce it here so we can be fans once again.

    Safe travels.

  28. April 30, 2009 2:04 pm

    Good luck in the future.

    Maybe come back sometime and say hello.

  29. May 18, 2009 12:46 pm

    HELLO HELoo HEloo Hello hello. Echo. Echo. Ya hey! Are you two writing another blog somewhere else? I would love to read it. I am not currently playing WAR and have gone back to nuzzling the low hanging fruit of Satan, I.E. playing WoW again. But I have decided not to give up on the old Tooth Skinner.

    Hopefully, I have something worth saying that doesn’t require Warhammer Online content to warrant it’s existence. Only time will tell.

    Good luck in your endevors, whatever they may be, and hopefully you stop back to your old blog here to read this. May the gods bless you.

    -NK

Trackbacks

  1. Sad Day « Druchii Journal

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

