Skip to content

wcpi #9 (nine on time baby)

April 19, 2009

We have our stuff together today! OMG!

Well, some of you might have been waiting for me to explode into some rant about 1.2.1. I have to admit I’ve been tempted, but I really don’t think I have to this time. The reason is so many other people are feeling the same. So, today we’re promoting 1.2.1 impressions… which in this case might be better summed up as depressions.

Casual WAR channel’s Commodus with Am I not Merciful? The most telling part about his impressions of 1.2.1 is this: Also, in related news, I’ve reinstalled the World of Warcraft client on my machine; I made a new trial account; perhaps my Retribution Paladin will see the light of day once more.

Incoming Pull adds some sarcastic wit to this by going over WAR’s amazing endgame content with WAR’s Swan Song. I can’t help but notice a pattern when I read the end: Hey, I hear AoC has a free trial. Been since launch when I stepped into Hyborea. Maybe it’s time to revisit and see the changes that have taken place.

Mmmmm Gud gives some very orcish ratings with 1.2.1 A brief review. No threats of leaving the game, but when the biggest flaunted features receive the worst rating you have to wonder what Mythic is thinking. It also ties in well with the recent WHA poll with some of the lovely customer service EU players receive: You recently placed a support request concerning a missing item. We are sorry to hear that you have lost an item, however until further notice we are not reimbursing items in your situation.

Bootae’s Bloody Blog gives some slightly more positive impressions with 1.2.1 first day final impressions. Bootae sums this up by saying, “So there you go, first day and first impressions are worrying for PvE (sloppy testing?), but very positive for RvR. With some good hotfixing, this could work out very well.”

How do I feel about 1.2.1? Put it this way, a big patch was released and instead of playing WAR I was watching Ulduar boss videos on Ciderhelm’s YouTube list for TankSpot. Yeah, 1.2.1 is just that good.

I really hope seeing something like the WCPI react this way can help Mythic understand how the community is feeling about their direction with the game. I love the blog community. I may have lost all faith in the primary player base and certainly the forum communities, but worst come to worst I’m very proud to be a part of the WCPI and the Age of Blogging. Keep on keeping on guys and gals.

pancakez

I’m so glad to see other members of the WCPI voice their opinions on 1.2.1. It’s sad to hear people mentioning they are turning to other games and giving up completely on WAR, but with the lack of direction Mythic has it is truly difficult to remain optimistic. People are bringing to light the issues with the things that were implemented, like the token system, city sieges, and career changes. Then there are people constantly bickering back and forth on what direction Mythic should take. If Mythic was bolder in their ideal direction then perhaps there would be more faith and possibly less bickering amongst the players.

That aside, the above posts are excellent reads. You don’t even have to agree with them. They are well-thought out posts about a game that the posters care about. If they didn’t care anymore, they would have stopped posting. If we all stand up and voice our opinions, I would like to think that sooner or later Mythic will hear us.
omelettez

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

